Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4974 Discussions

How to Obtain Raw Data for Simulation Purposes

Joshua_Ferguson
Beginner
Hello all,
I'm a newbie to VTune, attempting to use it in an academic project. In brief, I'd like to look at a trace of different workloads on an Apache webserver, and see if I can suggest some machine learning technique to predict memory access, clock halts, (or any other useful metric of how the workload affects the CPU).
My question to you guys is: how can I obtain access to a trace for this purpose? I know a lot of effort was put into the analyzer, but it isn't sufficient for my purpose (matlab programming). Can I obtain a raw trace of memory accesses over time or clock halts over time using VTune?
Also, does anyone have a suggestion of which CPU metric would be useful to predict?
Thanks ahead of time.
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee

Hi,

If you try to use VTune Amplifier XEwith server application, I suggest to create a new project -> set for "Profile System"as Target. Then you can select "Memory Access"as Analysis Type, which includes CPU_CLK_UNHALTED, INST_RETIREDand many MEM_LOAD_RETIRED events (L1 miss, L2 miss, DTLB miss).

After you start above data collection, you can stop this collector manually on GUI, then get report.

The report can be displayed (grouped by process/thread/module, or function) - so you can observe where (code)and when (timeline) data cache missed. However the tool does NOTprovide any trace for memory access (address).

Yes, you can observe CPU state (Running / Wait) on Function and/or Thread, also event count of CPU_CLK_UNHALTED.CORE indicated code/threadis busy or not.

Hopefully I have answered your questions.

Thank youof having interest of using Intel VTune Amplifier XE.

Regards, Peter

0 Kudos
Rob5
New Contributor II

Joshua,