Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4992 Discussions

How to profile a dll without having Vtune launch it ?

sidharth_wali
Beginner
Hi,
I am a newbie to VTUNE myself -I have used VTune to launch an application and then profile it -it works fine -but now I have a dll that gets called whenever I print a file -How do I use VTune to profile this dll i.e. - I don't want VTune to launch the application any more -I just want VTUNE to profile this dll whenever it starts running i.e. whenever I print a file -
Any help would be greatly appreciated
0 Kudos
4 Replies
David_A_Intel1
Employee
When you say "profile", what do you mean? If you are talking about Sampling, then there are no special setups. Simply create the Sampling activity and check "No application to launch" in the Sampling Wizard.
If you are talking about Callgraph, please review "DLL-level Call Graph Profiling" in the online help. Basically, specify "No application to launch" in the Call Graph Wizard and then add your DLL(s) as the Module(s) of Interest.
In both cases, setup the activity to run with no duration and press the Stop button when you want to stop collecting profiling data.
0 Kudos
sidharth_wali
Beginner
Hi Dave,
By profiling -I meant "Call graph" profiling.
I tried to follow your suggestions,
but I get this error when I try to set Call graph collector manually (I did make sure that duration is 0 seconds)
Basically, when I say"run the activity", after specifying the module of interest -I get the "copy instrumented modules" dialog box pop-up" which says that it needs to copy a few .dll files from the "cache folder" into my destination folder -when I click "run" (after having selected copy and restore files automatically) -I get "copying instrument files failed", "No module from the activity was loaded", No results were generated for this run"
0 Kudos
David_A_Intel1
Employee