Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

Incorrect times

tulgas
Beginner
Hi there,
I'm new to VTune and I assume I must be doing something wrong. I'm running a Hotspots analysis on my code and the times I'm getting are half what they should be (elapsed time, CPU time, etc...) I used a chronometer to measure the execution time and it takes about 26 seconds but the elapsed time I'm getting back in VTune is just over 13 seconds.
In case it helps, it's a MFC application executing calls to a DLL. The execution of the DLL functions are what I'm actually trying to profile. There is no multi-threading and I'm using an Intel i5-based computer.
Any ideas?
Tulgas
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee

Was it possible that the program went different paths for Hotspots and chronometer?

Did youcompare outpus of program for these two sessions?

It's hard image that the elapsed time of running application withHotspots is half of the original.

Can you please provide a simple test case to reproduce this issue? Or submit a ticket tohttps://premier.intel.com

Regards, Peter

0 Kudos
tulgas
Beginner
Hi Peter,
Thanks for replying. It's actually more bizarre than that:
When I run de softwrae without the Hotspot analysis (just executing the .exe) and when I run the software while performing the Hotspots analysis, the actual elapsed time is the roughly same (let's say 26 seconds) but the "elapsed time" as returned by VTune is about 13 seconds (it actually takes 26 seconds to run).
I tried to modify the software parameters to change the processing time and the elapsed times returned by VTune seem to be always about half the actual elapsed time... Actually, all the times (CPU time, etc...) are also half what they sould be...
I'm using the trial version of the Intel Parallel Studio XE 2011and I really want to buy the suite but I need to sort this out before...