Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4975 Discussions

Intel Performance Counters!

aehusain
Beginner
Dear All,

I am a newbie to use Intel forum, thus please suggest if my forum selection is not upto the mark.

My question is pertaining to selection of performance counters to measure system events: cache references and dram accesses at the same time. I am having Intel Pentium D (3.2 Ghz) platform and am using Oprofile system wide profiler to collect these events. I plan to use
BSQ_CACHE_REFERENCE - to measure cache events
IOQ_ALLOCATION - to measure dram related bus transaction.

I tried to use them at the same time, but it fails. My guess is due to the presence of counter number 0 being used to sample both these events. First, please suggest if this conclusion is not correct? If my assumption is right, is there a way to profile both these events at the same time using hardware performance counters.

Thanks!
Ata
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
Quoting - aehusain
Dear All,

I am a newbie to use Intel forum, thus please suggest if my forum selection is not upto the mark.

My question is pertaining to selection of performance counters to measure system events: cache references and dram accesses at the same time. I am having Intel Pentium D (3.2 Ghz) platform and am using Oprofile system wide profiler to collect these events. I plan to use

I tried to use them at the same time, but it fails. My guess is due to the presence of counter number 0 being used to sample both these events. First, please suggest if this conclusion is not correct? If my assumption is right, is there a way to profile both these events at the same time using hardware performance counters.

Thanks!
Ata

Hi Ata,

You said that you want to use two eventsat the same time. I think you used two events in one sampling's activity...am I right? Whatwas error message you got?