Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4975 Discussions

Large number of BE_EXE_BUBBLE-GRALL in application

tangouniform
Beginner
Here is my situation...
Hardware: 8 core Itanium 2 1.6 Ghz box w/18 Mb cahe (SGI Altix)
Intel 11.0 compiler
Application is 501 Mb (a lot of lines of code) simulation
Using Vtune 9.1 for linux
I use the command line (vtl) on the itanium and vtlex on a Xeon box (RHEL)

It is imperative I make the simulation real time but we are lagging by 100s of seconds...
vtune profiling shows the following
Profile 1:
across 19 threads I get

CPU_OP_CYCLES = 9.32E11; IA64_INST_RETIRED-THIS=1.16E12; BACK_END_BUBBLE-ALL = 5.63E11; FE_BUBBLE-ALL = 6.71E11

which to me seems bad, but I am new to this, so an experience opinion would be nice..
Wen I drive down into one of the Mains(thread) I find that vmlinux is the top dog, I would love to post an excel file, but due to issues beyond my control this is difficult... So I will post a bit by hand/

Module CPU_OP_CYCLE IA64_INST_RET BACK_END_BUBBLE-ALL FE_BUBBLE-ALL
vmlinux 2.98E11 4.85E11 1.29E112.03E11
Main 1.46E11 1.72E119.76E10 1.09E11
libc-2.4.so 4.62E104.49E10 3.09E10 3.37E10
Of all the BE BUBBLEs over half are attributed to GRALL and of those, over half are in the kernel
Is this telling me my application is spending a lot of time in system calls and worse yet the kernel is causing most of my stalls? When I run Performance co pilot pro (Strace blows up) I am not seeing that many system calls.Should I always expectthis?My kernel is not compiled with -g option. I have talked to the SAs and they will do it, for a fee, but Dove bars are too expensivetorisk based on my own opinion :)