Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

Measuring Frame Rate (FPS)

adamg2376
Beginner
Hi, I want to measure the frame rate of various applications and videos. I'm new to Vtune. Does anyone know how to do this?
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
Quoting - adamg2376
Hi, I want to measure the frame rate of various applications and videos. I'm new to Vtune. Does anyone know how to do this?

Intel VTune Performance Analyzer can measure your application's performance, but not for (Frames per Second) FPS.

In general VTune Analyzer captures samples in your code when application is running.Depends on total samples in different processes, threads, modules, functions- we know hot functions in your code.Roughlywe can estimate execution timeofhot function(s)= total_events / CPU_Frequency (seconds) = (samples * SAV) / CPU_Frequency (seconds)
Notes:
1. SAV means SampleAfter Value, for interval - how many ticks elapsed then capture a sample
2. We eliminated interruption handlingtime when VTune Analyzer captures a sample.I believe ISR routine take less time when interrupting, save a sample then return immediately.

Back to your question, VTune can estimate time spending in your critical (hot) function, but for video application specific.

PerhapsI can understand during specific test time - if time spending in your critical function is bigger, FPS is bigger. Am I right?

Regards, Peter
0 Kudos
David_A_Intel1
Employee
Quoting - adamg2376

Also, this depends a lot on what you are using to render the frames! If you are using third-party software, look to see if they provide any performance counters of their own. In Microsoft Windows*, software counters are exposed via the performance counter subsystem, commonly referred to as perfmon. The VTune analyzer exposed these counters in the Counter Monitor and can correlate the software counters to processor counters in the sampling data.

0 Kudos
cwilliamson
Beginner