Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
5101 Discussions

New to Vtune, how to understand Wait Count for a Sleep Object.

brettgrant99
Beginner

I am fairly new to Vtune and multithreaded stuff.  Running C++11 on Windows in Visual Studio.

I have a thread that is basically a while-loop that runs a few commands and then puts the thread to sleep for 50 msec.  Basically, it is a thread to run every 50 msec (I know, it doesn't really account for the few commands, but I inherited the code and it isn't that important).

For a test, I run a known set of test vectors for 90 seconds, and the analysis Summary always says that Sleep is the top waiting object.  I'm probably not thinking about it correctly, because that particular sleep command I know about and don't really care about.  I care about the commands in the thread that are running when it is not asleep.

It is hard to explain to management why "Wait Time with poor CPU Utilization" has the top object as "Sleep" and that it is expected and intended.  I guess that this is more of a threading question, but I thought that putting a thread to sleep was the right thing to do, freeing up the OS to work on other things.  It's not like I put in a busy-wait loop or something.

Back to the Vtune question, when I look at this thread, it says that it has a wait count of ~1800.  I think that it is counting the number of times that the thread goes to sleep.  (1800 / 50 ms ~= 90 s).  It seems strange to me that it is counting the number of times the thread has to wait upon itself.

Am I thinking about this correctly?  Any insights?

Thanks,

Brett 

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
AthiraM_Intel

Hi,

Thank you for posting in Intel Communities.

Could you please share the sample reproducer code and exact steps to reproduce the same from our side.

We try to analyze a similar c++ code in Windows using VTune 2023.2 and got the below results. Please refer the below screenshots: