Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4975 Discussions

Problems with VTune Analyzer

kyaw0010
Beginner

Hi,

I'm new to VTune Analyzer. First, I'd like to explain about our existing serial application that I've applied to VTune analyzer. It is an application used to simulate many RF devices especiallyfor cellular antenna design. The application itself has 3 .exe files separately linking each other. We need togive a model (antenna model) file as an inputto theapplication and it will give back the result calculation file. This is a brief about our application.

Now I'm using VTune to analyze and identify hotspots inour existing serial application. I've some questions about it.

Q 1) Do I need to use both Sampling and Call Graph methods to identify the hotspots in existing software? Can I use only Sampling method orCall Graph method?

Q 2) Why can't I drill down to the source code view with "Released Version" in Sampling method? Is it necessary to use "Debug Version" only? ( I can drill down to the source code with Debug Version.)

Q 3) Why I can't apply Call Graph method to our application? (Error message : "Application Error, The application failed to initialize properly (0xc000005). Click on OK to terminate the application". (Test with Released Version)

Q 4) When I test with Debug Version (to Call Graph method), it is working but only examines one .exe files even I have selected 3 .exe files in "modules of interest" list. Why this happens?

Q 5) Then I tested with a complex model file (antenna model), it is not working even in the sampling method (for both Debug and Released Versions). Here is the error message: " Failed to create sampling data base. Probably .tb5 files are corrupted or don't exist.". Please explain what happen to my application?

I need your help urgently. Please reply me ASAP...please!

Thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Reply
robert-reed
Valued Contributor II