Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

Sampling API Error

chhenning
Beginner
Hi there, I'm new to Intel Amplifier User API. I started with a very simple program to understand how things are working but even the simplest of all programs is producing
Sampling API error: resume sampling collection failed.
[bash]#include 
#include 

using namespace std;

//#define INTEL_NO_ITTNOTIFY_API
#include 

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
    __itt_resume();

double total = 0;

for( int i = 0; i < 10000; ++i )
    {
        for( int j = 0; j < 10000; ++j )
        {
            double a = sqrt( double( i ));
            double b = sqrt( double( j ));

total += sqrt( a * b );
        }
    }

__itt_pause();

cout.setf( std::ios::floatfield, std::ios::fixed );
    cout << total << std::endl;

return 0;
}
[/bash]
Am I doing something wrong?
Also, was this forum entry ever solved:
Thanks,
Christian
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Rob5
New Contributor II
Christian,

Are you starting the analysis in paused mode (for example, from the GUI by clicking Start or Start Paused)? If not, then it may be that you are starting the application analysis run not paused - in which case the first itt_notify is an attempt to resume the application analysis when the analysis is already running.

Attempt to pause first, and then resume.

Rob
0 Kudos
chhenning
Beginner
Hi Rob, thanks for your reply. I did what you were suggesting but it's not working. The console output shows:
The sampling collection paused.
Sampling API Error: resume sampling collection failed.
Sampling API Error: pause sampling collection failed.
I work on Windows7 64bit with Visual C++ 2010 and Intel VTune Amplifier XE 2011.
Is there a tutorial somewhere that shows how to use this API?
Thanks,
Christian
0 Kudos
Rob5
New Contributor II

Christian,