Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

Sampling and VTune's disadvantages

Roman_Oderov
Beginner

Hi, everyone!

Im a third-year student of Saint-Petersburg State University, the faculty of Mathematics and Mechanics, Software Engineering department. Not very long ago I decided to make a little research in application profiling area: to analyze, how sampling works. So I decided to publish my results here and I will be glad to know expert opinion.
*must say that I used HotSpots or LightWeightHS analyses

1. Empty Function Test

The first test program. Implements only one almost empty function.

[cpp]int main(int argc, char **argv)

{

int a = 0;

for (int i = 0; i < 10; i++) a += i;

return a; }

[/cpp]

There are few iterations so VTune said No data to show. The cause is that minimum sampling interval is 1 ms and the program work less than 1 ms. Thats why profiler VTune suppose that the test didnt work.

2. Simple Asm Test

To check if there is any additional information in analysis results.

Code:

[bash]

mov rcx, 10000000000

l1:

mov rax,rbp

loop l1

[/bash]
Result:

So, all is OK. Nothing unnecessary
3. Function Stack Test
Implements functionchain of function calls.
Goal: does VTune can show us all nested functions and does sampling have any mistakes?

Scheme of the program:

main

--> ExternalFunc

------> MiddleFunc

---------> InternalFunc

The nested functions are called. Bodies of all functions are identical so we can expect that runtime of all functions will be identical too.

When we compiled the program with compilers optimization, VTune showed us only main and Middle functions. But when optimization was turned off weve got expected result.

So VTune has done its work well

4. Create Process Test