Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4994 Discussions

Source/assembly code is not available

krishnabc
Beginner

Hi,

I am very new to VTune. 

I am trying to find hotspots of my application as guided by "getting started" tutorial. When I navigate to "Bottom-up" tab, I find only <my application>.exe is listed under Thread/Function/Call Stack and no list of subroutines/procedures taking the most CPU Time. When I double click on <my application>.exe, it says "Source/assembly code is not available". Am I missing something to configure my application for VTune? Appreciate your suggestions.

Thank you in advance.

Krishna

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
The quick answer is that you have to build application with debug info. Add compiler options "/Zi", "/DEBUG" for windows, and add compiler option "-g" for Linux. Function name was .exe - it meant missing debug/symbol info your exe/pdb. Ensure that your symbol file / source files are locate the directory (or sub-directory) of executable, otherwise specify directories of your symbol file/source files in VTune's Project Properties on GUI. In command line, use: (for example) amplxe-cl -collect hotspots --search-dir all:rp=dir1,dir2,dir3 -result /tmp/myhotspots -- application
0 Kudos
krishnabc
Beginner
Thank you Peter Wang for your quick and useful suggestions. Actually I had previously added the compiler option as Fortran > General > Debug Information Format as Full(/debug:full), but was missing to change the Generate Debug Info to Yes(/DEBUG) at Linker > Debugging. Now, VTune is running fine for my application. I have one more question. This is for the Fortran VTune sample example (nqueens_fortran). I am getting the longest Wait Time by Utilization (red: poor) for "Manual Reset Event 0xe8dbcd9e". What does this mean? Is there a way to resolve this issue? Thank you. Krishna
0 Kudos
Peter_W_Intel
Employee