Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4995 Discussions

VTune on Intel Devcloud

Nikhil_T
Novice

Can you provide me with the steps for running my C++ code on the intel devcloud and also to use Vtune on the devcloud? Any help will be really appreciated. 

I am accessing the devcloud through VS Code in windows. I am writing my code in here but I dont know how to run it in and see the results (Since I am a beginner on Linus based systems and have always used windows).  Can you please tell how to proceed?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Stas-Neverov-Intel

HI Nikhil,

There is also an option to use VTune GUI to configure analysis and view collected data. Refer to this post for instructions on how to run VTune as a web server on a DevCloud node and access VTune GUI from your local web browser:
https://community.intel.com/t5/Analyzers/Run-the-Intel-VTune-Profiler-Server-on-Intel-DevCloud/td-p/1221867

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
ArunJ_Intel

Hi Nikhil,

To run your cpp code on intel devcloud you could use any of the available compilers (icpc,dpcpp etc) to create an executable. Once the executable is created, run this executable file.

eg

icpc myfile.cpp -o a.out       

./a.out

You can use vtune on devcloud using vtune command line. The command line could be run from terminal of your vs code. Here is an example.

vtune -collect hotspots -result-dir r001hs ./a.out

You could find more about command line syntax in below link

https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/documentation/vtune-help/top/command-line-interface/command-syntax.html

Once the results are collected you could view the results by copying the results directory to your local machine. And you can open and view the results on vtune-gui installed on your local machine.