Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4974 Discussions

VTune remote analysis fails

EdSantilli
Novice

Hello,

I have VTune running on my Windows Laptop (Windows 11 Home 10.0.22000 Build 22000) connecting to a Linux server (Ubuntu 18.04.6 LTS). I have no problems with the connection or setting up the Hotspots analysis. When I click "play," the data collection is almost instantaneous. Then I get an error message saying that VTune cannot load the data file because it is corrupt (see attached).

When I run VTune on the server directly (by ssh-ing in), I have no problem running the hotspots analysis via X-forwarding using the GUI. However, X-forwarding is prohibitively slow, so I'd like to avoid using it.

I also have no problem ssh-ing into the server and running VTune via the CLI. However, I cannot view the results without X-Forwarding. Again, I'd rather not do that if there is a remote connection option.

This is my first time posting to this forum, so I'm sorry if I did not give you all of the information you need. Please let me know what additional info you need.

Thanks!

Ed

Collection logCollection log

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
12 Replies
VaradJ_Intel

Hi,

Thank you for posting in Intel Communities.

VTune sometimes shows this error when the target application stops before VTune is done collecting the data it needs. This can happen because the application crashes before the collection stops.

Please can you try following the solution given in the below link:

Error Message: Cannot Load Data File (intel.com)

If it doesn't help, please can you answer the following questions:

1. What is the version of VTune you are using?

2. Please can you tryout profiling matrix multiplication sample and check if you get this issue?

3. Are you using the ITT API for pause/resume or to mark up frames or tasks?

4. Please can you share which sampling are you choosing for hotspot analysis?