Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

application parameters

Abdallah_A_
Beginner

Hi !

I'm a beginner with vtune amplifier xe, i wont to use this tool to profile my code but i don't know how to put my parameters in the field application parameters window.

Normally to run my application "essai" i use this command line in linux:
./essai 10000 10 ./matrices/in/n576_k480_gf64.txt 3.0 30 0.3 45

So how can i passe this parameters to the parameter window

In the vtune tutorial they use dat/balls.dat,

Any help will be appreciated. thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
12 Replies
TimP
Honored Contributor III

If you find it easier, writing a simple script and making that the application to run may be a good solution when the command line becomes cumbersome to enter in vtune parameter box.  

0 Kudos
David_A_Intel1
Employee

Otherwise, just copy and paste the parameters into the Application parameters field, e.g., "10000 10 ./matrices/in/n576_k480_gf64.txt 3.0 30 0.3 45".

I guess more to your question, any paths specified should be relative to the "Working directory", which you can specify in the Analysis Target form, as well.

By using a script, you can avoid updating the Analysis Target any time you want to change the values.  Just change the script then start the analysis.

0 Kudos
Abdallah_A_
Beginner

Thank you all for your responses.

When I pass the parameters into the application parameters field without using a script (because I'm note there yet) the vtune gui crashes and I don't know why..!, but with the command line it worked just fine and I display the results with gui after that.

Best regards

Abdallah

0 Kudos
Vitaly_S_Intel
Employee

Which VTune version do you use? Are you launching application locally or using remote collection?

When crash happens, crash dialog box appears - can you send me its content via private message?

0 Kudos
Abdallah_A_
Beginner