Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4992 Discussions

callgraph results not showing the functions present in the dlls

SATISH_K_Intel
Employee
Hi,
I am new to Vtune. I am using Vtune 7.0 and compiled the dlls with all the required options. I am able to see some of the dlls in the sampling results (source view is also working fine), but not all. When I see callgraph results; I am notable to seethe functionspresent in the the dll's(not even one). What may be the problem?
Note : I mentioned all the dll's in the "modules of interest" list. Some dll's show the instrumentation level as "All functions" and some show as "Exports".
I am launching the application which uses these dlls, using vtune.
Any sort of help is appreciated.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
David_A_Intel1
Employee
First, upgrade to 7.1! This is a free download from Intel Premier Support.
Second, call graph requires full debug information. Do you have that for the DLLsyou areinterested in?
Finally, how did you configure the activity? Is the analyzer "launching" the application? You said you listed the DLLs, but what about the EXE? I am just trying to understand how you configured the call graph activity.
You might check out http://support.intel.com/support/performancetools/vtune/v71/sb/cs-006107-prd1391.htmfor some common call graph troubleshooting techniques.
0 Kudos
SATISH_K_Intel
Employee

Hi Dave,

Sorry for the late response. I am now upgraded to 7.1 using the evaluation copy. As I mentioned earlier, "I am not able to see the functionsusing callgraph approach, but with Sampling I am able to see the function names and also the source." Can you clarify the following questions?

1) What is the impact on vtune, when the machine goes to"suspend mode" and comes back again during data collection?

To verify our dlls, the machine should go to suspend mode atleast once.