Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)
4995 Discussions

scripting of vtl (batch processing)

jayaprakashp
Beginner
Hi all,
I have been using VTune for Windows for almost like 2 years now. I use to profile my code running on Linux systems (remote sampling). I am about to download VTUNE 3 fro Linux -- since it looks like most of the features have been extended to the linux version too. And eclipse is a new addition worth trying. Before I install and do stuff, I was just wondering if the new version allows one to automate profiling. I know older version did, but lacked a lot offeatures that I needed.So basically, whatI'm looking for is this. Can I issue a bunch of vtl jobs from command line using a script? I need to collect a lot of data and its been a test of my patience to sit and collect data all day long, in front of a windows machine. I wish I could automate it. And, is there a way to see the grand list of the available counters that you can use during profiling - like the equivalent of "Event List" in the windows version?
Thanks,
Jay

Message Edited by jayaprakashp on 01-31-2005 09:01 AM

0 Kudos
4 Replies
jeffrey-gallagher
Jay, two great questions!
First, if you want to see what sampling events are specific to the processor that you're working on, try this command:
$ vtl -help -c sampling | more
(I never remember that command, always have to check it out with a man page on vtl, $ man vtl...)
At the end of that output you'll get the list of all the events you can sample for.
Note that for a really good indepth explanation of each event, you'd want to examine the Reference Manual, which is an encyclopedia of event meanings and interrelationships. You can view that by bringing up your browser and viewing (default location):
/opt/intel/vtune/doc/reference/index.htm
You'll see a bunch of listings, primary events, secondary events, etc.