Analyzers
Talk to fellow users of Intel Analyzer tools (Intel VTune™ Profiler, Intel Advisor)

vTune on database application

Bony
Beginner

I am now working on a database system written in C++ and mysql. I want to evaluate the hardware performance and possibly find out the bottleneck of my database application. Could vTune help to investigate this issue? Because I know vTune can support C++ application but I wonder if it can support mysql as well. 

I am very new to vTune Performance Analyzer. I hope someone can help me with this simple question.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Peter_W_Intel
Employee
In general speaking - user-mode data collection (Hotspots, Concurrency, Locksandwaits) is to profile single process (including child processes) and target application works in user mode, assume that you run C++ module then call mysql database via interface, but mysql database is an existing process - it is not proper to use user-mode data collection, because they work in different process. I recommend to use PMU event-based sampling, for example - "lightweight-hotspots" can profile your target process (C++ based) and other active processes (including mysql process), note that you have to specify "-analyze-system" or do same thing in your project properties on GUI. Thus, all performance data classified in processes will be display - and your can filter these data based on your needs.
0 Kudos
Peter_W_Intel
Employee