Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rrh6bev
Beginner
525 Views

windows vtune from oneapi 2021.s.0.2665_offline does not run under Administrator

I install oneAPI package w_BaseKit_p_2021.1.0.2664_offline.exe on a windows10 sys tem.  If I launch "Intel VTune Profiler 2021.1" as non-Administrator, I get a root-level popup window with gray/white artwork and a bunch of naming/branding info, and eventually fall into the expected Dashboard for VTune.  But I can't use this to monitor micro-arch counters.

So, I attempt to run "Intel VTune Profiler 2021.1" as Administrator. I get the Windows Defender Sheild, click through "yes". I then get the same root-level pop up window with gray/white branding artwork, but then stops making expected forward progress.  I never do get the expected dashboard.

Taskmanager shows 4 processes "vtune-gui.exe", 1 process "vtune-backend.exe",

If I close the branding window, I get  Console Windows Host, 4*"Intel oneAPI VTune Profiler...", 1 Intel VTuneProfiler, 1 Node.js, 1 vtune-backend.exe and1 Widows Command Processor all grouped into an intelOneAPIVTune Priofiler... process. Unless these are daemons, I would expect them to away.

I have run an earlier version of VTune on this machine, and believe I cleanly uninstalled it.

 

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
13 Replies
AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
493 Views

Hi,

 

Thanks for reaching out to us.

We are able to launch the VTune profiler as Administrator and Non-Administrator without any issues.

 

Could you please check whether you are able to launch other oneAPI tools like Intel advisor as Administrator.

If you are facing the similar issue, please share the screenshots.

Also let us know which windows edition you are using.

 

Thanks.

 

AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
435 Views

Hi,


Could you please give us an update?


Thanks


rrh6bev
Beginner
426 Views

I was able to install and run this oneapi distribution on top of a fresh install of win10.  I still can not get oneapi to run on my corp managed computers.  Either there is something with the security policies enforced by my IT people, or there is detritus of prior installs of vtune, or... I'm still working the problem.

Tags (1)
AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
407 Views

Hi,


It seems like the issue is due to the security policies enforced by your organization. Please check with your organization and let us know.


Thanks.


rrh6bev
Beginner
381 Views

I can run as Administrator these additional GUIs without problems:

./advisor/2021.1.1/bin64/advisor-gui.exe
./advisor/2021.1.1/bin64/advixe-gui.exe

I can run one of the compilers (not a GUI program) as admin without problems.

AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
361 Views

Hi,


Could you please install latest standalone version of VTune Profiler and try to run as administrator.

If the issue still persists please let us know. Also share the screenshot of the error.


Thanks.



rrh6bev
Beginner
345 Views

I ran the Intel Vtune profiler 2021.1 after I started up a procmon session.  I captured the output of procmon.  I have no substantive prior experience with procmon, so I assume it works something like strace.

When I run vtune profiler with administrator privs, many subprocesses exit with a non-zero exit status; see output below; a total of 10 sub processes exited.

When I run vtune profiler without admin privs, all 9 exiting subprocesses exit with a 0 exit status.

 

Note that Exit Status -1073740956 appears to map to 

 

Here's the procmon output for the failing administrator Process Exit.

"13:15:27.9056927","vtune-gui.exe","12036","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: 0, User Time: 0.0312500 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.3125000 seconds, Private Bytes: 12,087,296, Peak Private Bytes: 12,210,176, Working Set: 35,430,400, Peak Working Set: 35,500,032"
"13:15:30.0906877","vtune-gui.exe","11596","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: -1073740956, User Time: 0.0000000 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.0000000 seconds, Private Bytes: 6,545,408, Peak Private Bytes: 6,545,408, Working Set: 45,166,592, Peak Working Set: 45,531,136"
"13:15:30.3111792","vtune-gui.exe","11580","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: -1073740956, User Time: 0.0000000 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.0000000 seconds, Private Bytes: 6,545,408, Peak Private Bytes: 6,545,408, Working Set: 45,809,664, Peak Working Set: 46,174,208"
"13:15:41.3466863","cmd.exe","27308","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: 1, User Time: 0.0000000 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.0468750 seconds, Private Bytes: 4,419,584, Peak Private Bytes: 4,431,872, Working Set: 5,406,720, Peak Working Set: 5,476,352"
"13:15:41.3526108","vtune-backend.exe","12296","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: 1, User Time: 0.2812500 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.8593750 seconds, Private Bytes: 30,904,320, Peak Private Bytes: 30,945,280, Working Set: 75,272,192, Peak Working Set: 75,276,288"
"13:15:41.3583074","amplxe-node.exe","23824","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: 1, User Time: 0.5000000 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.2968750 seconds, Private Bytes: 39,198,720, Peak Private Bytes: 39,563,264, Working Set: 51,957,760, Peak Working Set: 52,199,424"
"13:15:41.3731612","vtune-gui.exe","29640","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: 1, User Time: 0.3437500 seconds, Kernel Time: 1.1718750 seconds, Private Bytes: 25,194,496, Peak Private Bytes: 29,450,240, Working Set: 67,514,368, Peak Working Set: 73,744,384"
"13:15:41.3782879","vtune-gui.exe","12936","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: 0, User Time: 0.0000000 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.3593750 seconds, Private Bytes: 13,246,464, Peak Private Bytes: 13,283,328, Working Set: 40,931,328, Peak Working Set: 40,939,520"
"13:15:41.3809008","vtune-gui.exe","13060","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: 0, User Time: 0.0781250 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.3906250 seconds, Private Bytes: 19,968,000, Peak Private Bytes: 23,130,112, Working Set: 64,925,696, Peak Working Set: 69,353,472"
"13:15:41.3868454","vtune-gui.exe","26676","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: 1, User Time: 0.2031250 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.2187500 seconds, Private Bytes: 23,617,536, Peak Private Bytes: 25,845,760, Working Set: 56,946,688, Peak Working Set: 58,527,744"

Here's all procmon reported syscalls for thread id; the other thread that exits in the same manner also has the same trace.

13:15:30.3081194","vtune-gui.exe","11580","Thread Create","","SUCCESS","Thread ID: 16680"
"13:15:30.3088963","vtune-gui.exe","11580","CreateFile","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS","Desired Access: Generic Read, Disposition: Open, Options: Synchronous IO Non-Alert, Non-Directory File, Complete If Oplocked, Attributes: n/a, ShareMode: Read, AllocationSize: n/a, OpenResult: Opened"
"13:15:30.3090559","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryFileInternalInformationFile","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS","IndexNumber: 0x4000000118b69"
"13:15:30.3090840","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryFileInternalInformationFile","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS","IndexNumber: 0x4000000118b69"
"13:15:30.3091095","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryStandardInformationFile","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS","AllocationSize: 123,424,768, EndOfFile: 123,424,392, NumberOfLinks: 1, DeletePending: False, Directory: False"
"13:15:30.3091485","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryDeviceInformationVolume","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS","DeviceType: Disk, Characteristics: Secure Open"
"13:15:30.3091786","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryEAFile","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS",""
"13:15:30.3092110","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryEAFile","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS",""
"13:15:30.3092332","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryStreamInformationFile","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS","0: ::$DATA"
"13:15:30.3092993","vtune-gui.exe","11580","CloseFile","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS",""
"13:15:30.3095312","vtune-gui.exe","11580","Load Image","C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\vtune-gui.exe","SUCCESS","Image Base: 0x7ff63f930000, Image Size: 0x7914000"
"13:15:30.3099191","vtune-gui.exe","11580","CreateFile","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS","Desired Access: Generic Read, Disposition: Open, Options: Synchronous IO Non-Alert, Non-Directory File, Complete If Oplocked, Attributes: n/a, ShareMode: Read, AllocationSize: n/a, OpenResult: Opened"
"13:15:30.3102258","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryFileInternalInformationFile","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS","IndexNumber: 0x200000010d7ad"
"13:15:30.3102484","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryFileInternalInformationFile","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS","IndexNumber: 0x200000010d7ad"
"13:15:30.3102771","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryStandardInformationFile","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS","AllocationSize: 2,027,520, EndOfFile: 2,025,272, NumberOfLinks: 2, DeletePending: False, Directory: False"
"13:15:30.3103073","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryDeviceInformationVolume","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS","DeviceType: Disk, Characteristics: Secure Open"
"13:15:30.3103303","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryEAFile","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS",""
"13:15:30.3103577","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryEAFile","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS",""
"13:15:30.3103817","vtune-gui.exe","11580","QueryStreamInformationFile","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS","0: ::$DATA"
"13:15:30.3104542","vtune-gui.exe","11580","CloseFile","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS",""
"13:15:30.3107281","vtune-gui.exe","11580","Load Image","C:\Windows\System32\ntdll.dll","SUCCESS","Image Base: 0x7ffedcaf0000, Image Size: 0x1f6000"
"13:15:30.3108050","vtune-gui.exe","11580","Thread Exit","","SUCCESS","Thread ID: 16680, User Time: 0.0000000, Kernel Time: 0.0000000"
"13:15:30.3111792","vtune-gui.exe","11580","Process Exit","","SUCCESS","Exit Status: -1073740956, User Time: 0.0000000 seconds, Kernel Time: 0.0000000 seconds, Private Bytes: 6,545,408, Peak Private Bytes: 6,545,408, Working Set: 45,809,664, Peak Working Set: 46,174,208"

 

rrh6bev
Beginner
317 Views

If I login to one of my self administered lab machines using its local Administrator account, then I can start Vtune without any problems, either with "run as Admin", or normally.

If I login to the same lab machine using my corporations domain and userid (eg, using domain joining), then I can NOT run Vtune with "run as Admin" (but, as always on this ticket, can launch Vtune as myself).

I conclude, weakly, that there's something about my corp-issued domain credentials that is setting or triggering a policy that prevents Vtune  from  running as admin.  I do not know enough about windows security mechanisms to debug this any further

AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
295 Views

Hi,


Please share the screenshot of the error while launching the VTune profiler as administrator.


Could you please run the self-checker.sh script for both root and non-root user. Also share the output with us.


./<vtune-installation-directory>/bin64/vtune-self-checker.sh


Also check if the command line is working?


vtune-collect <analysis_type> [-target-system=<system>] [-knob <knobName=knobValue>] [--] <target>


Please refer the below link for more details:


https://software.intel.com/content/www/us/en/develop/documentation/vtune-help/top/command-line-inter...


If you face any issue, please let us know.


Thanks.


rrh6bev
Beginner
276 Views

I think this answers your current set of questions

 

Attachment admin-task-manager-stuck-vtune shows the task manager showing the vtune-gui.exe stuck when run as admin.

Attachment admin-vtune-profiler-toplevel-window shows the top level pop up gray window with your copyrights in it, as seen forever when vtune-gui.exe is run as admin.

user-self-checker.txt is the output of the self-checker bat file when run as myself.

admin-self-checker.txt is the output of the self-checker.bat file when run as admin; it looks fine.

I run as myself the vtune Command Line command to run mem_bench.exe (which in turn will do nothing):

  C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64>vtune -collect uarch-exploration -result-dir C:\Users\xxx\r011hs .\mem_bench.exe

I get, as expected:
vtune: Error: Cannot enable Hardware Event-based Sampling due to a problem with the driver (sep*/sepdrv*). Check that the driver is running and the driver group is in the current user group list. See the "Sampling Drivers" help topic for further details.
vtune: Error: To collect hardware events, run the product as administrator.

 

I run as admin:C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64>vtune -collect uarch-exploration .\mem_bench.exe

I get, as expected (vtune runs and does expected things! Yah!
vtune: Collection started. To stop the collection, either press CTRL-C or enter from another console window: vtune -r C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\oneAPI\vtune\2021.1.1\bin64\r000ue -command stop.
Usage: mem_bench [options]

------------------------

So it looks like all of the underlying mechanisms run fine.  Not knowing how your software is put together, perhaps there's something with the GUI itself that doesn't want to run when I 1st login to the machine with my corporate domain credentials, and then attempt to run vtune-gui.exe as admin

 

AthiraM_Intel
Moderator
235 Views

Hi,


We are forwarding your case to subject matter experts.


Thanks.


218 Views

Hi Robert,

 

It seems like a bunch of scenarios (GUI/CLI, admin/non-admin and corporate/non-corporate account ) were being discussed in this thread. Let me summarize in order to better understand the current status -

 

  1. VTune GUI as a non-admin user results in failure of collection from performance counters. As admin, vtune fails to load. [Is this with your corporate managed account?]
  2. VTune GUI runs okay on a fresh build of Win10 but not on corporate managed machines.
  3. On a self-administered machine, as admin, VTune GUI runs fine with and without admin rights. On the same machine, when logged in as a corporate user, cannot run as admin.
  4. VTune CLI works fine as admin, but fails as a normal user.

 

Before proceeding could you confirm under which scenario was VTune installed in the first place - as admin/non-admin and as corporate user or not?

 

Best regards,

Amar

 

rrh6bev
Beginner
173 Views

Sorry for the delay in responding.

Here "works" means launching intel vTune to  get a GUI briefly shows a toplevel copyright legal window and proceeds to a useful GUI, and "broken" means launching intel vTune to get a GUI gets stuck just showing the toplevel copyright legal window.

if I install oneAPI/vtune as admin, then logged in as admin, "run as Admin" works, and "run as self (eg, Admin)" works too
 
If I install oneAPI/vtune as admin, then logged in as mydomain\myusername, launching intel vTune as "run as Admin" is broken, and "run as self" works too (but, presumably, won't be able to read HW counters)