Developing Games on Intel Graphics
If you are gaming on graphics integrated in your Intel Processor, this is the place for you! Find answers to your questions or post your issues with PC games
486 Discussions

Rendering flicker in Intel UHD Graphics with DirectX

Sheile
Novice

I'm a developer for indie game.
Our products have unstable rendering issue on specific polygon in Intel UHD Graphics.
In GeForce graphics card or software rendering, same product render all polygons normally.

• [Has issue] Intel UHD Graphics 620 in i7-8565U(Driver 27.20.100.8681)
  • [Has issue] Intel UHD Graphics in i7-10510U(Driver 31.0.101.1999)
  • [No problem] GeForce MX150
  • [No problem] GeForce MX250
  • [No problem] GeForce RTX2070 SUPER
  • [No problem] GeForce GTX1060
  • [No problem] Windows Advanced Rasterization Platform(WARP)

I've created code and binary for reproducing. Is there anyone who can check it and describe reasons?
IMHO, This problem is the bug on driver.

Binaries

Attached binaries have unstable rendering in Intel UHD Graphics.

Rendering flicker.mp4: Rendering result by D3D12HelloTriangle.exe on Intel UHD Graphics.
D3D12HelloTriangle.exe: Binary for reproducing which is built from reproduce/rendering-flicker-with-error branch in following repository.

This binary always render 197 polygons, But rendering on 196th polygon is unstable.

Reproducing code

reproduce/rendering-flicker-with-error branch on my repository.

This repository forked from Microsoft official sample repository.
I've just changed vertices in following sample.

Samples/Desktop/D3D12HelloWorld/src/HelloTriangle

Difference of code from official sample is commit 172e5d2c

196th polygon is here.

x1: (61.500000 - 640) / 640
y1: -(61.500000 - 360) / 360
z1: 0.500000

x2: (-62.500000 - 640) / 640
y2: -(61.500000 - 360) / 360
z2: 0.500000

x3: (-62.500000 - 640) / 640
y3: -(-62.500000 - 360) / 360
z3: 0.500000

This polygon will be rendered some frame, and will NOT be rendered another frame.