Embedded Connectivity
Intel network controllers, Firmware, and drivers support systems

E810-XXVAM2

Greif
Beginner

I AM trying to Deal with a tagged VLAN on a receive packet.

I am trying to control certain registers on the chip that will allow me to pass the receive packet with tag value without striping the tag.  

Any help would be appreciated. I am new to this E810 chip.

I have changed some fields, but I am still not getting any received messages. The incoming packet is a tag packet and I need to pass this packet thru without any stripping of the tag. 

I have set the Global Configuration (L2 Tag Control - GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL[n]), Location 13.2.2.8.5 within the E810 document, to the following:

Global Configuration

GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL. ETHERTYPE

0x8100

GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL.ISVLAN   1

PRT_L2TAGSEN.NON_LAST_TAG

GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL.INNERUP

GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL.OUTERUP

GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL.LONG

GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL.HAS_UP

GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL.ISMPLS

GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL.ISNSH

GL_SWT_L2TAGCTRL.LENGTH

GL_SWT_L2TAGTXIB.OFFSET

GL_SWT_L2TAGTXIB.LENGTH  3

01b

GL_SWT_L2TAGRXEB.OFFSET

GL_SWT_L2TAGRXEB.LENGTH   3

01b

GL_SWT_L2TAGDATA0, GL_SWT_L2TAGDATA1

All zeros

Per Port Configuration (Controlled by Set Port Parameters command)

PRT_L2TAGSEN.ENABLE and

GL_L2TAGSEN_m_n (m= 0..3, n= 0..1)

The E810 Datasheet section 7.12.3.3 states that the tag extraction rules are controlled by the following:

VSI_TSR.STRIPTAG, VSI_TSR.SHOWTAG, and VSI_TSR.SHOWPRIONLY bit fields.

Within Table 7-290 Tag Extraction Example, the document talks about “SHOWIV and L2TSEL”:

We, have SHOWIV and L2TSEL set to a 1, 0 respectfully.  Which selects Inner VLAN on L2TAG1.

However, I believe this only pertains to different cases assuming the first tag is an STag and the second tag is a VLAN.

We don’t have a Stag only a typical 802.1 (8100) vlan tag.