Embedded Intel Atom® Processors
Technological Conversations about Intel Atom® Hardware, Software, Firmware, Graphics

IEGD for Ubuntu 10.04

BNull
Beginner

I am very new to the embedded world, but I am trying to install Linux drivers onto an Intel Atom Processor Z530 with the US15W system controller. The Linux drivers available for this system are for very old distributions including Fedora 10 and Ubuntu 8.04.

My question is, does Intel plan on supporting more recent versions including the Ubuntu long-term release 10.04?

If not, is there a way I can hack the current drivers to work with this distro?

Finally, if the answer to my previous two questions is no, is there somewhere I can download these old Linux releases?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
2 Replies
AChea
Novice

I'm currently running Ubuntu 10.10, which I believe uses Xorg server 1.9. If you grab the IEMGD drivers current release there is a unofficial support for the MeeGo 1.1 platform. Modifying the install script to treat my system as MeeGo 1.1 seemed to work as I've got 3D accelerator support for the first time since I used the old psb drivers on Ubuntu 9.4 (Maybe it was 8.10)

At any rate, while Ubuntu is not officially supported, I was able to get the MeeGo 1.1 drivers to work "out of the box". Prior to that I had built a custom 1.7.99 Xorg server and installed the MeeGo 1.0 drivers. This also required me to freeze my kernel at 2.6.33 though (There was a compatibility issue with the EMGD kernel module and the linux headers).

I've not gotten backlight controls re-enabled yet, though I can still change them at boot time with the keyboard function keys. It's a work in progress but I'm getting there. I'm hoping that I can get answers to some of my configuration questions since the java installer tool that comes with the download is very complicated.

I own an Acer 0751h, which is the GMA500 (US15W) chipset.