Embedded Intel Atom® Processors
Technological Conversations about Intel Atom® Hardware, Software, Firmware, Graphics
1154 Discussions

i915 IEGD dual independant head multiple framebuffers linux

sclar8
Beginner

We are currently using the i915 driver on RHEL 6 on a i7 620EL VME SBC. We have two displays we want to draw on independantly. We could use either extended or dual independant head mode. We do not want to use X. As such we are prototyping using directfb which uses /dev/fb0. At present the i915 is only giving us clone mode for /dev/fb0. As such we looked at using two graphics cards to give us two /dev/fb*, ie /dev/fb0 and /dev/fb1. This hardware solution has been excluded. I have a number of basic questions as I am a embedded graphics/linux newbie.

1) can i configure i915 to give us extended/DIH mode for the /dev/fb0.

2) can i configure i915 to five use two framebuffers /dev/fb0 and /dev/fb1.

3) as above for the IEGD.

Any advice or alternative solutions would greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Kirk_B_Intel
Employee

Hi,

I think you are asking for help in the wrong place. IEGD was a proprietary Linux graphics driver that supported up through Q/GM45 chipsets https://www-ssl.intel.com/content/www/us/en/intelligent-systems/intel-embedded-graphics-drivers/intel-graphics-drivers-specifically-for-embedded-platforms.html https://www-ssl.intel.com/content/www/us/en/intelligent-systems/intel-embedded-graphics-drivers/intel-graphics-drivers-specifically-for-embedded-platforms.html

It never supported the chipset graphics (series 5) for previous generation Core processors.

the i915 Linux driver is an Intel Open Source Technology Center driver which can be found and is supported here: https://01.org/linuxgraphics/ Home | Linux Graphics

If you are doing direct framebuffer type things (which we usually strongly discourage as you cannot h/w accelerate things going directly to the FB) then you should not be using the i915 driver as it requires X as far as I know.