Ethernet Products
Determine ramifications of Intel® Ethernet products and technologies
4867 Discussions

Wired_PROSet_27.8_x64 install Fails 1602

Jamen
Novice
1,675 Views

Hi,

 

I am trying to install the Intel PROSet software, and have successfully done so on 13 other servers (all the exact same specs and configuration). 

 

However 1 of the 14 servers fails every time, with the application loading, then going straight to finish advising "The Wizard was interrupted before Intel Network Connection could be completely installed".

 

I have disabled the Windows AV, and successfully installed the required driver prior (as mentioned the same process has worked on 13 other exact same servers).

 

I have a full log but the ending is as follows. Can anyone tell me why this keeps failing and how to fix it.

 

Action start 11:35:53: CA_CHECK_FOR_FEATURE_SUPPORT.
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering -> CheckForDeviceFeaturesSupport()
1: [11:35:53] 2: Path to Rule.dll 3: C:\Users\admin\AppData\Local\Temp\IntF435.tmp\Rule.dll
1: [11:35:53] 2: IsMaintenance Value:
1: [11:35:53] 2: Change
1: [11:35:53] 2: Remove Value:
1: [11:35:53] 2:
1: [11:35:53] 2: ARPREMOVE Value:
1: [11:35:53] 2: 0
1: [11:35:53] 2: Failed to get Hardware ID from PCI device
1: [11:35:53] 2: Found DMiX - supported port
1: [11:35:53] 2: Found ANS - supported port
1: [11:35:53] 2: Found DMiX - supported port
1: [11:35:53] 2: Found ANS - supported port
1: [11:35:53] 2: Found DMiX - supported port
1: [11:35:53] 2: Found ANS - supported port
1: [11:35:53] 2: Found DMiX - supported port
1: [11:35:53] 2: Found ANS - supported port
1: [11:35:53] 2: Failed to get Hardware ID from PCI device
1: [11:35:53] 2: Failed to get Hardware ID from PCI device
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting -> CheckForDeviceFeaturesSupport()
Action ended 11:35:53: CA_CHECK_FOR_FEATURE_SUPPORT. Return value 1.
Action start 11:35:53: CA_CHECK_IF_ISCSI_NEEDS_TO_BE_ENABLED.
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering - CheckIfIscsiNeedsToBeEnabled
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Checking property ISCSI_DCB_CAB
1: [11:35:53] 2: Property found to be equal to expected value
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Checking property ISCSI
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering IsISCSIusingDCBRecommended()
1: [11:35:53] 2: IsISCSIusingDCBRecommended() result : False
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting IsISCSIusingDCBRecommended()
1: [11:35:53] 2: Leaving - CheckIfIscsiNeedsToBeEnabled
Action ended 11:35:53: CA_CHECK_IF_ISCSI_NEEDS_TO_BE_ENABLED. Return value 1.
Action start 11:35:53: CA_IS_SETUPBD_ALREADY_RUNNING.
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering CheckIfSetupBDIsActive()
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting CheckIfSetupBDIsActive()
Action ended 11:35:53: CA_IS_SETUPBD_ALREADY_RUNNING. Return value 1.
Action start 11:35:53: CA_IS_DXSETUP_ACTIVE.
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering IsDxSetupRunning()
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering - IsDependentApplicationRunning
1: [11:35:53] 2: GetProcessName() - Found process running
1: [11:35:53] 2: IsDependentApplicationRunning - found the dependent process: 3: DxSetup.exe
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting - IsDependentApplicationRunning
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting IsDxSetupRunning()
Action ended 11:35:53: CA_IS_DXSETUP_ACTIVE. Return value 1.
Action start 11:35:53: CA_CHECK_IF_FCOE_BOOTED_OR_PAGE_FILE_ON_FCOE_LUN.
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering CheckIfFCoEBootedOrPageFileOnFCoELUN
1: [11:35:53] 2: Enter IsFCoEDisklessInstall
1: [11:35:53] 2: IsFCoEDisklessInstall - TRUE
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exit IsFCoEDisklessInstall
1: [11:35:53] 2: Found FCOE diskless install
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Checking property IS_MAJOR_UPGRADE
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Checking property FCOE
1: [11:35:53] 2: Property found to be equal to expected value
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: User selecting to remove FCoE
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Checking property IS_MAJOR_UPGRADE
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Entering CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Checking property UILevel
1: [11:35:53] 2: Property found to be equal to expected value
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting CheckBooleanMSIProperty
1: [11:35:53] 2: Exiting CheckIfFCoEBootedOrPageFileOnFCoELUN
CustomAction CA_CHECK_IF_FCOE_BOOTED_OR_PAGE_FILE_ON_FCOE_LUN returned actual error code 1602 (note this may not be 100% accurate if translation happened inside sandbox)
Action ended 11:35:53: CA_CHECK_IF_FCOE_BOOTED_OR_PAGE_FILE_ON_FCOE_LUN. Return value 2.
Action start 11:35:53: SetupInterrupted.
Info 2826.Control Line1 on dialog SetupInterrupted extends beyond the boundaries of the dialog to the right by 3 pixels.
Info 2826.Control DlgLine on dialog SetupInterrupted extends beyond the boundaries of the dialog to the right by 3 pixels.
Action start 11:35:54: CA_CLEANUP_AFTER_INSTALL_USER_EXIT.
Action ended 11:35:54: CA_CLEANUP_AFTER_INSTALL_USER_EXIT. Return value 1.
Action start 11:35:54: CA_REMOVE_SETUP_FILES.
Action ended 11:35:54: CA_REMOVE_SETUP_FILES. Return value 1.
Action start 11:35:54: PrepareExecutionPolicyRestoreInstallUserExit.
Action ended 11:35:54: PrepareExecutionPolicyRestoreInstallUserExit. Return value 1.
Action start 11:35:54: CA_RUN_EXECUTION_POLICY_RESTORE_USER_EXIT.
Action ended 11:35:56: CA_RUN_EXECUTION_POLICY_RESTORE_USER_EXIT. Return value 1.
Action ended 11:35:56: SetupInterrupted. Return value 2.
Action ended 11:35:56: INSTALL. Return value 2.
=== Logging stopped: 23/01/2023 11:35:56 ===
MSI (c) (38:FC) [11:35:56:471]: Product: Intel(R) Network Connections -- Installation operation failed.

MSI (c) (38:FC) [11:35:56:471]: Windows Installer installed the product. Product Name: Intel(R) Network Connections. Product Version: 27.8.0.0. Product Language: 1033. Manufacturer: Intel. Installation success or error status: 1602.

 

 

Thanks in advanced,

Joe

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Jamen
Novice
1,362 Views

For those that may have the same issue here the issue was identified.

 

The issue was with the OEM Image applied to the Dell server. After a Regular Windows 10 image was applied to the server the software installed as expected.

 

The OEM provider is now looking at why their image has caused this issue.

 

Thanks for all the assistance 

 

Please mark as closed if needed

 

Thanks,

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
IntelSupport
Moderator
1,638 Views

Hi Joe,


Thank you for posting in Intel Ethernet Communities.

 

In order to better assist you, we recommend for you to provide below information:

 

  1. Model of the ethernet product that use in the server.
  2. Which operating system that you are trying to install the Intel® PROSet Software?
  3. Have you try to clean uninstall the Intel® PROSet Software and reinstall with older version driver?

 

Best regards,

Fariz_Intel


0 Kudos
Jamen
Novice
1,616 Views

Hi,

 

Thanks for your reply. Answers are as follows:

 

1. Intel Gigabit 4P I350-t rNDC (4 ports module)

2. Windows 10 version 21H2 (OS Build 19044.2546)

3. I have done a general uninstall and re-install but if you can advise the best method to do a clean uninstall i can attempt this and see if it works.

 

Note I am also turning off the windows AV as I have seen this cause issues in the past.

 

Thanks,

Joe

0 Kudos
IntelSupport
Moderator
1,608 Views

Hi Joe,

 

Thanks for your answers.

 

We recommend you to check below link for clean uninstallation guide and it is best to use local administrator account during the process.

 

Clean Driver Installation Guide for Intel® Ethernet Connections: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000058304/ethernet-products.html

 

You may check the User Guide for Intel® Ethernet Adapters on below link which also included the installation guide: https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/19373/adapter-user-guide-for-intel-ethernet-adapters.html

 

Let us know if the link and step provided are able to help with your issue.

 

You also can check on your operating system windows event log if there is any event trigger during the installation.

 

 

Best regards,

Fariz_Intel


0 Kudos
Jamen
Novice
1,591 Views

Hi,

 

Thank you for that info. I performed a clean uninstall and the same issue has occurred.

 

The driver installs fine it is just the "ProSet" software that doesn't load and goes straight to finish on install (what looks to fail some pre-check).

 

I had 14 servers that were exactly the same and the same process was followed on all of them which worked as expected, this one however is causing me all kinds of issues.

 

I will be getting the restore image from the manufacture and resetting it back to default so see if this fixes the issue (DELL OEM server).

 

Unless there is another suggestion at all?

 

Thanks again,

Joe

0 Kudos
IntelSupport
Moderator
1,586 Views

Hi Joe,

 

I see, we understand your situation, we apologize for the inconvenience caused


You may proceed with the restore image and see if it can help with the issue.

 

In the meantime we will further check on this issue and will let you know if there is any alternative option available.

 

You can compare with other server if .NET Framework setting is enabled in Windows 10.

 

Later you can let us know if the restore image from the manufacture are able to help with the issue.

 

Best regards,

Fariz_Intel


0 Kudos
IntelSupport
Moderator
1,563 Views

Hi Joe,


Just want to let you know that we will contact and update you again within 2 business day. Looking forward to receiving your reply! Thanks.


Best regards,

Fariz_Intel


0 Kudos
Jamen
Novice
1,506 Views

Hi,

 

I performed a factory reset , resetting the unit to the OEM factory state and the issue is still present for this one server.

 

I performed the same tasks as before updating driver then attempting to install software but it fails to load stopping at its pre-checks again.

 

I have compared .NET framework version, NIC card version, driver version and windows version all are the same for the server that worked.

I will be raising a case with the OEM manufacturer however are there any other pre-checks the ProSet software does that it may be failing on.

 

The log above is the only bit of info i get with minimal in Event log or provided by the software isntall.

 

Thanks again,

Joe

 

0 Kudos
IntelSupport
Moderator
1,485 Views

Hi Joe,

 

Thanks for your response.

 

I see, if that’s the case, then we recommend you to get a consult from OEM.

 

As per mention on below article link, your system manufacturer may have pre-installed the Intel® PROSet/Wireless Software on your system to enable OEM-specific features. Which means their drivers may have been bit optimized or customized to be used with your system.

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000005649/wireless/legacy-intel-wireless-products.html

 

We will let you know if there is any other pre-checks found that will help on this issue.

 

As you may already know about this, for the ProSet software, the download package has been split into a driver package and an Intel® PROSet package. The driver package must be installed prior to installing the Intel® PROSet package while Installation of Intel® PROSet is optional. So, you may check link below see if it will help on the issue.

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/download/18293/intel-network-adapter-driver-for-windows-10.html

 

You may also compare BIOS firmware version or log files between the working server and the one that failed to install.

 

Best regards,

Fariz_Intel


0 Kudos
IntelSupport
Moderator
1,415 Views

Hi Joe,

 

If you have additional questions or clarifications, feel free to let us know.

 

We will contact you again within 3 business day for a follow-up. Looking forward to hearing back from you. Thanks.

 

 

Best regards,

Fariz_Intel


0 Kudos
IntelSupport
Moderator
1,387 Views

Hi Joe,


Since we have not seen an update for several days, if you need any additional information, please submit a new question as this thread will no longer be monitored.



Best regards,

Fariz_Intel


0 Kudos
Jamen
Novice
1,363 Views

For those that may have the same issue here the issue was identified.

 

The issue was with the OEM Image applied to the Dell server. After a Regular Windows 10 image was applied to the server the software installed as expected.

 

The OEM provider is now looking at why their image has caused this issue.

 

Thanks for all the assistance 

 

Please mark as closed if needed

 

Thanks,

0 Kudos
Reply