FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6355 Discussions

Avalon MM Master and Slave need to have the exact same signals?

JPovo
Beginner

Hello,

I am using the "mem_if_ddr3_emif_0 - DDR3 SDRAM Controller with UniPHY Intel FPGA IP" to acces the DDR3 external memory. In Platform Designer (QSys), Quartus 18.1.

I have my own readmaster connected to one of the IP's avalon channel. In the master I have signals for the simple single read acces (address, data, waitreq, read).

However the IP's avalon slave channels have also the burst signals (burstCount, readDataValid, beginBurstTransfer) which I didnt connect with my simple master.

My question:

I'm trying to read in the simple waitReq mode, but it seems to act like the burst mode anyway (on SignalTap)... So is it a mistake to not connect the burst signals, when the slave has them? I supposed the slave IP or rather QSys would understand that when I dont connect them.

Thanks

Jenda

0 Kudos
6 Replies
sstrell
Honored Contributor III

You don't need to add them to your master if you don't want/need to do burst accesses. However, the interconnect will get generated automatically with logic to handle this burst signaling.

0 Kudos
JPovo
Beginner

Well, I thought just so, but when I connect just: read, readData, waitRequest and address, the waitRequest goes up with read and never ends. However, if I hold read just for one cycle ignoring the waitRequest, the waitRequest then goes down together with read and the data appears a few cycles after - just like pipeline reading... (and my master didnt have readDataValid signal here)

0 Kudos
sstrell
Honored Contributor III

There must be something else in the system holding waitrequest. What other masters/slaves do you have in the system?

0 Kudos
JPovo
Beginner