FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6356 Discussions

Synthese failed on DSP-Builder "Out of Memory 4200MB"

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hallo  

I'm a student of the univerity o Zurich (Switzerland) and I develop a mp3  

encoder/decoder on a Dev Board DE2 Cyclone 2 with EP2C35F672 fpga.  

The synthese on dsp-builder do not work, I became a errore message  

"Out of memory 4200 MB". 

My workstation have x64 OS Windows 7 Prof with 8GB RAM. Can I make settings in DSP-Builder for correct mapping with RAM?  

Wath for features have the Quartus V9.1 with DSP-Builder V9.1? Does this Version 9.1 work better with RAM-mapping?  

Thanks you.
0 Kudos
22 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

it is actually pretty strange seeing out of memory targeting a CII device. i will take a look at your mdl.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i ran your model from the other thread. i changed clock_1.536MHz to clock_1536MHz, and unchecked the specify clock boxes in all of the blocks which used clock_1536MHz just to get it to compile. i was able to successfully run all the way through Signal Compiler's compile, though it did use a ton of RAM.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

i am using MATLAB 2008b and Quartus II/DSP Builder 9.1

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

thank you for try a simulation on your pc. 

I have changed my mdl-file, could you test this new file on your pc again? 

I became the same error "out of memory 4200GB", that's strange... 

I use Matlab 2009b, quartus 9.0 and dsp-builder 9.0. 

I have both quartus x32 and x64 on my pc, but is not the OS Win7 x64 that managed the mapping with RAM's? 

Best regards...
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I found the failure, I has insert a bus conversation on the output from my IIR with "signed int 16-bit in/out and make settings in DPRAM also signed int 32x16 bit and not inferred.