FPGA Intellectual Property
PCI Express*, Networking and Connectivity, Memory Interfaces, DSP IP, and Video IP
6352 Discussions

usage of SGDMA IP for data transfer to and from DDR3

vsath
Beginner

Hi,

I want to develop a system with NIOS II Processor on Arria V of one of our custom boards for DDR3 memory transfers.

where as there will be a sensor which will be giving around 128 bit data per clock cycle, and that data we want to transfer to DDR3 on our board itself using SGDMA and NIOS II processor and after that we wanted to read the data also from DDR3 using NIOS II and SGDMA to a USB connection which is connected to FPGA.

Can you help us in finding a sample design in this point of view where as data transfer happens using SGDMA and NIOS II between FPGA and DDR3?

Its been important for us to complete this but couldn't able to find any correct design as example for this as starting point to us.

By the way I am new to quartus where as our previous development used to go with Xilinx(vivado).

Please help us in fastening our development process by providing some useful tutorials and links to solve the above mentioned task.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
BJona
Novice

Hi, you should check the devkits web page of Intel fpga as they provide design examples for almost every on board peripherals.

For example, a CycloneV E with DDR3 :

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/programmable/products/boards_and_kits/dev-kits/altera/kit-cyclone-v-e.html

0 Kudos
NurAida_A_Intel
Employee

Hi,

Also you may refer to Intel FPGA wiki that consist some generic MSGDMA and EMIF design. 

Hope this helps.

Thanks

Regards,

NAli1

VenkateshSathar
New Contributor I

Hi,

Got the example for arria 10 with NIOS using MSGDMA from the following link

https://fpgawiki.intel.com/wiki/MSGDMA_design_example#Steps_to_Run_Design_Example

and I have another example for cyclone V for DDR3 test using NIOS processor SoCkit_v.2.0.1_SystemCD.zip

I tried to integrate both.

Things which are working are