FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

Completely New to FPGAs

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hey there, 

I'm a graduate student in EE with a strong interest in analog/analog design. My undergrad work only provided me with a small taste of FPGAs because I picked all analog courses. However, since getting into the current graduate program that I am in, I get the feeling that I should learn more about FPGAs. Currently, I do all my work with PICs when I need them. 

After comparing Xilinix's and Altera's dev boards, I decided to align myself with Altera. Mainly because they appear to offer inexpensive boards. My question to you guys is, which dev board do you recommend? I'm looking at Altera DE0 Board and the DE0 Nano board (which comes out at the end of this month). The Nano offers more LEs, an ADC, and an accelerometer. But the regular DE0 board offers more I/Os, comes with more switches, LEDs, offers 7-seg displays, and serial port already installed. At the moment, I'm leaning towards the DE0 board mainly because it's in stock and I wish to get it before Spring break so I can play with it then. But if you guys recommend the Nano then I shall wait provided convincing arguments.  

I know practically nothing about FPGAs and plan on teaching myself instead of taking undergrad courses at my uni. Can you guys also offer some good sites, books, pdfs, etc etc to make this learning process a tad easier? I've already found some "useful" pdfs, but that was after a quick search of verilog and other key words. Like I said, I'm totally new here so anything suggested is welcome with open arms.  

To be honest, I would much rather take my 100 bucks and buy parts on digikey or use the money towards my pcbs/other projects. But learning FPGAs may have its benefits. 

Any advise is much appreciated.  

Thank you all.  

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello,