FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5892 Discussions

Cyclone 10 GX Development Kit ddr problem

User1589866279049382

When i use bts to test the board.

In ddr test. It always show DDR Calibration Error.

Does any one ever meet this problem?

0 Kudos
19 Replies
Deshi_Intel

Hi,

Byright dev kit BTS shouldn't be showing DDR3 calibration error unless you have a defective dev kit board.

1. May I know is this totally new board or existing board that have been used for sometime ?
  2. BTS is quite sensitive to Quartus version in used. Do you used the exact Quartus version which is Quartus Pro edition v17.1
  3. Another debug suggestion is to create DDR3 example design from EMIF IP following the DDR3 setting used in BTS design. This should help to isolate whether the issue resides in BTS or the dev kit board itself.

Thanks.

Regards,

dlim

0 Kudos
User1589866279049382

Hi,

1. This is totally new board. It is my first time to test ddr function.
  2. I am use Quartus Pro edition v18.1
  3. Create DDR3 example design from EMIF IP is also get the same error.

Thanks for your help.

David

0 Kudos
User1589866279049382

Quartus Pro edition v17.1 show the same error.

0 Kudos
Deshi_Intel

Hi David,

1. Can you share with me your dev kit board purchased invoice and board serial number so that I can check for eligibility of warranty claim ?

But before I can approve for dev kit RMA claim, I need to perform some debug with you first to ensure this is really defective dev kit board issue

1. I forgot to ask you is this an FPGA ES silicon board or FPGA production silicon board ?
  2. Have you cross check to ensure all the on board jumper setting is set to default setting location as per user manual doc ?
  3. Did you change any clock frequency setting on clock controller GUI ? Pls restore it back to default clock frequency
  4. Did you observe any potential physical damage or loose component on the board ?