FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5918 Discussions

Nios II and ADC -- Cyclone III Dev. Board

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Sorry, I've only just started using Altera FPGAs, and so far things went fine with Verilog and without using Nios II.  

I would now like to use a Nios II soft-processor for some signal processing applications (matched filtering, for example). I would like to read the incoming signal from the ADC.  

I found a few examples on how to use the Nios II, but I did not find a single example, where an ADC or DAC were used. Where can I find such? How can I access the data that is coming from the DAC?  

Is it best to write the data from the DAC into some memory (SRAM, DDR) and then access that memory from Nios II?  

I'm a beginner with this and confused...  

Any help is appreciated! thanks in advance.
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You could write a verilog block that reads the ADC and make it into a custom component for SOPC. That way your sample block could be connected to NIOS via the avalon bus. 

http://www.altera.com/literature/hb/qts/qts_qii54004.pdf 

If you like you can use a dma controller to write the data directly from your sample block to the SDRAM if you like, that could be useful if you sample at a high rate. 

Best Regards, 

Ola Bångdahl
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you for your reply, Bango! I will try to study the link that you have provided.  

But are there really no examples from Altera where ADC and DAC are being used with the Nios II?  

The "first steps" with Altera FPGA's are good, but I somehow miss the "second step" examples...  

Furthermore, is there an example explaining the usage of the dot-matrix LCD from within NiosII or directly through VerilogHDL?  

Thanks for all your help!
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II