FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits

PCIe on Stratix IV

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I am an altera newbie and am currently working on getting the PCIe system running on DE4.The version of quartus I am using is 10.0 and the SOPC builder fails every time I try to build the PCIe system showing a Java null pointer exception without giving any reason.I am following the directions given by the IP Compiler for PCI Express User Guide. Any help in this matter would be very much appreciated.
0 Kudos
13 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

10.0 is quite old, and SOPC builder has been superseded by QSYS. 

Can you try a more recent version of Quartus and use Qsys? 

Nial.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hey, 

I would prefer to work with the latest version, but unfortunately till that is available i want to find if theres some way to work with the available tools.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

I would prefer to work with the latest version, but unfortunately till that is available i want to find if theres some way to work with the available tools. 

--- Quote End ---  

If you are running Quartus 10.0, and compiling for the DE4, then you must already have a subscription license. In that case, just install the newer version of Quartus. 

I did some tests on the Qsys stuff in this thread: 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35678 

Using the 11-series of tools. I haven't tried using PCIe with 12.x or 13.x, but the PDF describes the sequence used to create the IP cores, so it should be sufficient for you to create an example for the DE4. 

Cheers, 

Dave
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks Dave for the reply.