FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.

Preloader does not work.

DChau5
Novice

Hi everyone,

First of all, I am new to this field and most of the time I learn it by myself. Recently, I just bought an Atlas-SoC board from Terasic and I have been trying to make an bare-metal application ( just counting and output to LEDs ).

So far, I have been following those steps:

1/ Design my own HPS on Platform designer ( Qsys )

2/ Connect all the necessary pin

3/ Successfully compiled on Quartus

4/ Generated .rbf file ( Passive Parallel x16 )

5/ Generated a preloader using bsp-editor. In here, I disabled Watchdog and enabled FAT-Support

6/ Generated preloader bin file using make command

7/ Generated u-boot.img using make uboot commad

8/ Load preloader on SD card by using alt-boot-disk-util.exe

9/ Copy all uboot.img and rbf file to SD card( at this point, I have not made baremetal application because I just want to see if it is booted or not )

10/ Plug SD card into my board ( MSEL is set to ON )

11/ Open putty and connect to the board

12/ Turn on the board

The result is nothing. I received nothing on the Putty terminal. At first, I thought that it would show the setup of Clock, SDRAM, Reset, etc. But all I have is totaly blank terminal.

My first assumption is that I have made some mistakes in configuring the preloader.

I hope someone can give me a solution because I am pretty a newbie in this field.

Thanks in advance !

0 Kudos
8 Replies
KhaiChein_Y_Intel
DChau5
Novice

thanks for your answer. Let me update my situation a little bit. After some configuration, I have been able to load my preloader, so now I have 2 choices: