FPGA, SoC, And CPLD Boards And Kits
FPGA Evaluation and Development Kits
5931 Discussions

de0-Nano SPI slave implementation VHDL

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I just got hold of a DE0-Nano board. I'm trying to implement a very simple SPI (nano as slave). At the moment I just want to be able to continuously latch in a value, and then read it back out using an MCU, confirming there is communication at a basic level. I have assigned pins (just using the pin planner, naming the GPIO's im using) hooked up and programmed the board, I know my MCU SPI code works, but I notice I'm not getting anything on my MISO at all.. despite correct operation using a vector waveform analysis. 

I'm wondering if there are additional steps to do with configuring the pins that I have not taken, or if I need to enable some system clock? I have some experience using VHDL and the DE0-Nano, but that was at uni, using templates provided. 

Code is below for reference. All im doing is looking for the rising edge of what would be SCLK on a GPIO input, and shifting through bits while device select is low. 

Thanks for any help, I'll be busy reading the instruction manual in the mean time. 

Cheers, Chris.