Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20493 Discussions

Can Universal Windows Drivers support old chipsets with Windows 10 Version 1809 on my old laptop? Also could you tell me more information about these new graphics drivers please?

dublinman1990
Novice

Hello. This is my first time posting on these forums. I am here to ask for some advice.

I only read about the UWDs from Intel from news articles yesterday. I own a Toshiba Satellite C50-B-137. I have owned this laptop since the 12th of July 2014. I am aware that this is an old laptop. Am I right that this is a 4th generation processor. This laptop has a customized Intel graphics card driver from Toshiba. It is also currently a discontinued product. I had read a compatibility list of computers about the Windows 10 1809 update from Toshiba recently. My own computer was not included on the list. I also attempted to obtain a driver update from the Toshiba support website. I had no luck in getting one from the website as the latest one there was from the 23rd of September 2015.

I will give you links on my specs of this laptop below.

http://www.toshiba.ie/discontinued-products/satellite-c50-b-137/tab/services/

https://ark.intel.com/products/81071/Intel-Celeron-Processor-N2830-1M-Cache-up-to-2-41-GHz-

I had only upgraded to Windows 10 1809 (October 2018 Update) on Thursday. My current graphics driver is as follows. It's current version number is 10.18.10.4425. It was last updated on the 4th of April 2016.

I have played with some videos & viewed photos on it too since the update. It has not been a good experience from doing it so far. The photos can have a lot of distortion in the image. The videos can also suffer from a lot of freezing & pixelation as well which is not so good either on any desktop video player like VLC & Windows Media Player.