Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20494 Discussions

Cannot get more than 128MB of Dedicated Video Memory (laptop with Intel HD 520)

mfrank54
Beginner

Hi,

I am an experienced software developer specialized in graphics programming.

I currently own two computers:

- a late 2015 desktop computer with a i7-6700 processor (with Intel HD 530 graphics)
- a 2016 laptop computer with a i5-6300U processor (with Intel HD 520 graphics)

Both computers have 16GB of central memory and both have the latest Intel HD driver, as well as the latest system BIOS. The laptop is an HP 820 G3, with the latest may 2021 BIOS (N75 v1.52).

On the desktop computer, when I use an OpenGL application allocating 260MB of video memory, things succeed and run fine.
On the laptop computer, even though my BIOS setting is "Video memory size: 512 MB", the same application fails to run, reporting that the maximum size of an OpenGL memory allocation is 128MB.
I wrote a program to check things, and the maximum memory block size reported by OpenGL indeed is 128MB, which is just insanely low, and does not match my BIOS setting anyway.

I've read several messages here in this forum, and they definitely do not answer this question which is asked very often. I AM aware that dedicated memory is automatically increased by the driver. But this just does not work on my laptop.

Thanks for your help.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
AlHill
Super User

That is because DEDICATED memory is OLD SCHOOL.   It is controlled by your Dell bios.  Games that use DEDICATED video memory are also OLD SCHOOL.   Get the game manufacture to update their game.  No, DEDICATED memory is NOT automatically increased by the driver.   However, system memory is, and can increase to upto 50% of your SYSTEM memory:

https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/articles/000020962/graphics.html

Doc (not an Intel employee or contractor)