Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20622 Discussions

How to force Windows CE to use the display connected to the HDMI, without testing the HDMI connection

MFalk1
Beginner

Hi everybody,

I got the account login information from my boss, so his name will appear not mine. I am new at this company. I also asked my question from Microsoft, and they suggested to turn to the Intel with my question.

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/611a579b-ee2d-4dc9-9bb4-cacf7df7f1b4/how-to-force-windows-ce-to-use-the-display-connected-to-the-hdmi-without-testing-the-hdmi?forum=winembplatdev http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/611a579b-ee2d-4dc9-9bb4-cacf7df7f1b4/how-to-force-windows-ce-to-use-the-display-connected-to-the-hdmi-without-testing-the-hdmi?forum=winembplatdev

Our company develops hardvare devices, which run Windows CE and Windows 7 Embedded.

The hardware engineers made a small mistake in the HDMI hardware (they forgot to invert one line), and because of this, the HDMI socket wrongfuly detects the presence of the display. So, the Windows CE senses that no display attached to the HDMI socket, but in fact, there is a display, just the Windows CE beleives it wrongfuly.

And, after we can make the Windows beleive that it has a display, it handles the display correctly, so the only problem is the detection of the presence of the HDMI display.

We can suppose, that there is always a display on the HDMI, so we no need any kind of HDMI detection.

Our company sold 200 devices when they realize the hardware problem. (The display works fine after switching on the system, it becomes wrong after the first unplug and plug.) So, the company sold 200 devices, and we cannot call them back, it would be too high cost, and loosing the trust.

We would like to change (update) the software, and we would like the new software to avoid any kind of HDMI line checking, any HDMI presence checking.