Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20620 Discussions

Intel HD graphics driver give video TDR failure when enabling

ASolo1
Beginner

I have been dealing with this issue for a pretty long time now and honestly do not even remember the cause of the issue. I have a dell inspiron 7000 gaming laptop with an i7 7th gen processor. Currently I have been using the laptop for the past 3 months or so without the intel graphics drivers enabled because everytime i try and enable them, i get a blue scree video TDR failure. I have tried uninstalling, and reinstalling windows, factory resetting, downloading different driver versions and none of it has worked. I even sent it into a dell service center for diagnostics and they hardware came back fine. Any advice or tips would be great.

0 Kudos
15 Replies
AlHill
Super User

What Version of Windows 10 are you using? 1809?

Do you have dual graphics?

Tip: Use ONLY the drivers provided by DELL for your laptop.

Note: Dell is solely responsible for support of your laptop, not intel.

Doc

0 Kudos
ASolo1
Beginner

I am running windows 10 home, and yes it is dual graphics, I have a NVIDIA 1050ti

0 Kudos
ASolo1
Beginner

oh sorry, version 1803

0 Kudos
AlHill
Super User

You did not provide your windows 10 version number. Go to start, settings, system, about, and go to the bottom of the page.

Doc

0 Kudos
ASolo1
Beginner

version 1803

OS Build: 17134.706

0 Kudos
AlHill
Super User

OK, you should upgrade to 1809. However, 1903 will be available very soon, so you may want to wait.

Now, it is imperative that you use ONLY THE DRIVERS FOR BOTH INTEL AND NVIDIA GRAPHICS provided by DELL. You must do this because any switching between the graphics requires the customizations to the drivers that Dell has made.

Doc

0 Kudos
ASolo1
Beginner