Graphics
Intel® graphics drivers and software, compatibility, troubleshooting, performance, and optimization
20498 Discussions

"Out of video memory trying to allocate a texture!" error when playing Valorant

BoltFlash
Beginner

A few days ago I began experiencing problems with Valorant because the game started crashing with the out of video memory error. But I was playing Valorant on my laptop for about a month and was able to clock in a little over 24 hours on it. My graphics driver is an Intel Iris Xe and I have over 8 GB of graphics memory. I usually play on the lowest 16:10 resolution which is 1280 x 800. I also play a lot of other games on my laptop but the issue never occurred with them, only Valorant.

I can only think of a few things that could've made it start crashing:
-I updated Windows 11 the day before.
-I downloaded Rocket League before I started playing that day.
-When I started playing that day I switched to a 5:3 ratio (since it filled my whole screen) which is a lower resolution than what I have been playing.
-The first crash happened after a Brimstone on my team kept spamming one of his abilities causing a disturbing sound.

I deleted Rocket League, deleted and reinstalled Valorant, changed back to my usual resolution, and tried multiple ways to resolve the issue that I found on YouTube. But none of these attempts to stop the error from happening has worked. My only guess is that the Windows update could be causing it.

Does anyone have a fix to my problem?

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies
AndrewG_Intel

Hello @BoltFlash

Thank you for posting on the Intel® communities.

In order to review this further, could you please provide us with the following information?

1- Screenshot or a short video showing the error message and/or the crash:

2- Do you have the game installed on a (mechanical) hard disk drive (HDD) or on a Solid State Drive (SSD)?