Intel® ARC™ Graphics
Get answers to your questions or issues when gaming on the world’s best discrete video cards with the latest news surrounding Intel® ARC™ Graphics
1752 Discussions

Starfield crash on new-game

wolly
Novice

Dear Intel forum,

Firstly this is my first time using this forum, so if I'm not using it correctly please let me know and I'll adjust.

I recently purchased starfield on PC to play and It wont run. I am using an arc a770 so I'm making a report here so that this issue can get looked into.

Following the guidelines here is my systems basic info:

•  OS gentoo linux (kernel version 6.9.3), which as intel arc drivers are bundled with the kernel gives my driver version too.
  • CPU: AMD Ryzen 9 7950X
  • GPU: Intel arc a770LE
  • Ram: 64gb
  • PSU: ROG LOKI SFX-L 1000W Platinum
  • Mobo: ROG STRIX X670E-I GAMING WIFI

I'm trying to run starfield from steam using the latest proton experimental.

Steps to reproduce: Game downloads and launches normally, as well as compiles shaders correctly. Clicking new game causes freeze and then crash after a few seconds (on lowest graphics with and without up-scaling enabled)

Whilst I'm somewhat new to linux I am pretty competent in general with using a PC so if anyone needs any more data / logfiles / dotfiles whatever please just ask and I will endevour to provide.

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
wolly
Novice

Op here, also come to think about it my graphics performance has been off for a few days. I *think* the instigator was moving from kernel 6.9.1 to 6.9.3 but it could have been moving from 6.8.9to 6.9.1 that did it. The issues I have been having is random crashes in Fo4 (where beforehand i prolly had 1 maybe 2 crashes in hundreds of hrs now I am having crashes every few hours). also cyberpunk 2077 loads but crashes in the character creation screen.

I know theses are separate issues but knowledge of them may help in diagnostics.

0 Kudos
wolly
Novice

Hi, just got some more info: