Community
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ph3ar
Beginner
315 Views

Intel's AMT SDK and Visual studio 2005

Hello,

I am getting the following error when I'm trying to compile sample discovery from Intel's AMT SDK.

------ Build started: Project: Discovery, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
Compiling...
DiscoverySample.cpp
c:\intel_amt\samples\discovery\c++\discoverysample.h(16) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'SoapCommonDefinitions.h': No such file or directory
Build log was saved at "file://c:\Intel_AMT\Samples\Discovery\c++\Debug\BuildLog.htm"
Discovery - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
---------------------

I have followed the guide step by step I have even checked the video series on how to setup Intel's AMT SDK maybe I miss something ... any clue?
0 Kudos
43 Replies
Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar
Hello,

I am getting the following error when I'm trying to compile sample discovery from Intel's AMT SDK.

------ Build started: Project: Discovery, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
Compiling...
DiscoverySample.cpp
c:intel_amtsamplesdiscoveryc++discoverysample.h(16) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'SoapCommonDefinitions.h': No such file or directory
Build log was saved at "file://c:Intel_AMTSamplesDiscoveryc++DebugBuildLog.htm"
Discovery - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
---------------------

I have followed the guide step by step I have even checked the video series on how to setup Intel's AMT SDK maybe I miss something ... any clue?

Hello,
Could you let us know which version of the SDK you are using? Did you run the makewsdl.bat script? "makewsdl" creates soap files used in building the samples. In the 5.1 SDK, this bat file is located in the ...CommonGeneratedCodeSoapC++ folder. Also, you did not change the directory structure, did you? In order for the samples to build correctly the SDK structure must not be changed.
ph3ar
Beginner
166 Views


Hello,
Could you let us know which version of the SDK you are using? Did you run the makewsdl.bat script? "makewsdl" creates soap files used in building the samples. In the 5.1 SDK, this bat file is located in the ...CommonGeneratedCodeSoapC++ folder. Also, you did not change the directory structure, did you? In order for the samples to build correctly the SDK structure must not be changed.
Hello,

I am using SDK version 5.1, I haven't changed the directory structure.
After running makewsdl.bat script I still get the same error.
Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar
Hello,

I am using SDK version 5.1, I haven't changed the directory structure.
After running makewsdl.bat script I still get the same error.

Hi ph3ar,

Please verify that you have done the following:

1. Installed the Microsoft Platform SDK - there is a link on page 13 of the User Guide.pdf (see the DOCS folder)for where to go to download it.
2.You have added the environment variable MSSDK with the path for where the Platform SDK is. See page 14 of the User Guide. Note - I think you must reboot after adding an environment variable.
3. You have added the SDK lib folder to your project settings as described on page 14 of the User's Guide.
4. You have added the SDK include folder to your project settings as described on page 13 of the User Guide.
5. You said that you ran the makewsdl.bat file - so all your soap generated files should be there
6. You might try also running the build.bat file that is in the Windows folder - I couldn't tell but perhaps it is building files that are needed by all of the samples. (I ran it and mine is compiling and building successfully)

Please let us know if all this works?
ph3ar
Beginner
166 Views


Hi ph3ar,

Please verify that you have done the following:

1. Installed the Microsoft Platform SDK - there is a link on page 13 of the User Guide.pdf (see the DOCS folder)for where to go to download it.
2.You have added the environment variable MSSDK with the path for where the Platform SDK is. See page 14 of the User Guide. Note - I think you must reboot after adding an environment variable.
3. You have added the SDK lib folder to your project settings as described on page 14 of the User's Guide.
4. You have added the SDK include folder to your project settings as described on page 13 of the User Guide.
5. You said that you ran the makewsdl.bat file - so all your soap generated files should be there
6. You might try also running the build.bat file that is in the Windows folder - I couldn't tell but perhaps it is building files that are needed by all of the samples. (I ran it and mine is compiling and building successfully)

Please let us know if all this works?

Hi,

thank for your reply.
I have followed these steps but I'm still getting the following error:
c:iamtsdkintel amt 5.1 sdk goldwindowscommonthirdpartygsoapgsoapwinhttpx.cpp(24) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'winhttp.h': No such file or directory

I have also chmoded the folders and files included on the SDK to be writable...
Lance_A_Intel
Employee
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar

Hi,

thank for your reply.
I have followed these steps but I'm still getting the following error:
c:iamtsdkintel amt 5.1 sdk goldwindowscommonthirdpartygsoapgsoapwinhttpx.cpp(24) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'winhttp.h': No such file or directory

I have also chmoded the folders and files included on the SDK to be writable...

Hello,
winhttp.h should be in the Platform SDK. Please ensure you have followed all the instructions in section 4.4 of the User Guide. If the Platform SDK is installed and the paths are setcorrectly you should not get that error.

You are working ona Windows platform, right? Your chmod comment was a little surprising :)
ph3ar
Beginner
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar

Hi,

thank for your reply.
I have followed these steps but I'm still getting the following error:
c:iamtsdkintel amt 5.1 sdk goldwindowscommonthirdpartygsoapgsoapwinhttpx.cpp(24) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'winhttp.h': No such file or directory

I have also chmoded the folders and files included on the SDK to be writable...

Hello,
winhttp.h should be in the Platform SDK. Please ensure you have followed all the instructions in section 4.4 of the User Guide. If the Platform SDK is installed and the paths are setcorrectly you should not get that error.

You are working ona Windows platform, right? Your chmod comment was a little surprising :)

Hi,

Just downloaded the SDK again and started anything from scratch (as the windows spirit implies :) ) but I still get this error for winhttp.h .

Unfortunately, I'm working on a Windows platform, I could not find an easier word to describe chmod :)

So what can I do from now on any clue?
Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar

Hi,

Just downloaded the SDK again and started anything from scratch (as the windows spirit implies :) ) but I still get this error for winhttp.h .

Unfortunately, I'm working on a Windows platform, I could not find an easier word to describe chmod :)

So what can I do from now on any clue?

It sounds to me as though you missed something in the instructions (specifically having to do with your installation and setting up of the Microsoft Platform SDK.) As Lance said, winhttp is part of the Platform SDK. Did you follow the link in the User's Guide and install it? Did you install the .Net Framework 2.0 (with service packs?)

Did you add the MSSDK environment variable set to the folder where your Platform SDK is installedand then did youreboot?

Did you add the Microsoft Platform Platform SDK lib and include folders to your Visual Studio Project directory settings? (in the order which the User's Guide tells you to do so?)

What does the log file say when your build does not work? Visual Studio produces a log file - you may want to include it so that we can take a look.

I just downloaded the 5.1 SDK yesterday and was able to compile it - so you must be missing one, or more of the installation steps. Please go through the steps and verify that you completed all the steps. And also include any log files or screen shots so that we can try to figure out what is missing.

-Thanks,
Gael
ph3ar
Beginner
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar

Hi,

Just downloaded the SDK again and started anything from scratch (as the windows spirit implies :) ) but I still get this error for winhttp.h .

Unfortunately, I'm working on a Windows platform, I could not find an easier word to describe chmod :)

So what can I do from now on any clue?

It sounds to me as though you missed something in the instructions (specifically having to do with your installation and setting up of the Microsoft Platform SDK.) As Lance said, winhttp is part of the Platform SDK. Did you follow the link in the User's Guide and install it? Did you install the .Net Framework 2.0 (with service packs?)

Did you add the MSSDK environment variable set to the folder where your Platform SDK is installedand then did youreboot?

Did you add the Microsoft Platform Platform SDK lib and include folders to your Visual Studio Project directory settings? (in the order which the User's Guide tells you to do so?)

What does the log file say when your build does not work? Visual Studio produces a log file - you may want to include it so that we can take a look.

I just downloaded the 5.1 SDK yesterday and was able to compile it - so you must be missing one, or more of the installation steps. Please go through the steps and verify that you completed all the steps. And also include any log files or screen shots so that we can try to figure out what is missing.

-Thanks,
Gael
Hi Gael,

Thank for your support below is the output of visual studio:
------ Build started: Project: Discovery, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
Compiling...
gsoapWinHTTPX.cpp
c:mountiamtsdk51windowscommonthirdpartygsoapgsoapwinhttpx.cpp(24) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'winhttp.h': No such file or directory
soapC.cpp
soapClient.cpp
Generating Code...
Compiling...
DiscoverySample.cpp
Generating Code...
Build log was saved at "file://c:mountiamtsdk51WindowsIntel_AMTSamplesDiscoveryc++DebugBuildLog.htm"
Discovery - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar
Hi Gael,

Thank for your support below is the output of visual studio:
------ Build started: Project: Discovery, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
Compiling...
gsoapWinHTTPX.cpp
c:mountiamtsdk51windowscommonthirdpartygsoapgsoapwinhttpx.cpp(24) : fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'winhttp.h': No such file or directory
soapC.cpp
soapClient.cpp
Generating Code...
Compiling...
DiscoverySample.cpp
Generating Code...
Build log was saved at "file://c:mountiamtsdk51WindowsIntel_AMTSamplesDiscoveryc++DebugBuildLog.htm"
Discovery - 1 error(s), 0 warning(s)
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 0 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========



Ok.... still pointing to your installation of the Windows Platform SDK. Can you tell me exactly what path you have set your "MSSDK" Environment variable to? And could you please attach the BuildLog.htm? And also provide the link from where you downloaded the Windows Platform SDK from.

Also, as winhttp.h is part of the Plaform SDK, please let us know which path you set inside your Visual Studio Project for the Platform SDK include files? Did you place it first, or last, in the list. As I notedin one of my previous posts, order matters - you must follow the instructions that are in the User's Guide.

Could you tell us also which instructions you followed (Document name and page number?) Are you using the Users Guide in the SDK DOCS forlder? I have also written the instructionsin this thread.

Thanks,
Gael
Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar

I have checked this video http://www.mefeedia.com/entry/how-to-compile-intel-amt-sdk-sample-code/11539772 in which the setup of SDK in visual studio is demonstrated.

Next I have used the pdf user guide that is included in Intel's AMT SDK pointing to pages Nr: 13 and 14.

Moreover I have attached the BuildLog.htm and 2 screenshots of the MSSDK" Environment variables.

Also, as winhttp.h is part of the Plaform SDK, please let us know which path you set inside your Visual Studio Project for the Platform SDK include files? I haven't found any information about this? You mean how to open the Intel AMT SDK path from Visual studio or the directory tree of the SDK?

Hi - You included the Visual Studio Project information where you are telling it where to find the Windows SDK Include and Library files. I do not see anything showing anew MSSDK EnvironmentVariable and what path it is set to.

I need to know two things. Did you create a new Environment Variable called MSSDK on your Window's System? And your path looks strange - did you give it a different directory name than what the installation defaulted to? Please also provide the link from where you downloaded the Platform SDK so that we can verify that you did, indeed install the correct product (again, the link is in the User's Guide).

You should have installed the product called: Window Server 2003 SP1 Platform SDK Web Install - this is where the link in the User's Guide takes you. And on my system, it installed the product into the following folder: C:Program FilesMicrosoft Platform SDK for Windows XP SP2 -- so that is the path I set for my MSSDK Environment Variable and I set the Lib and Include files accordingly (.../include and ..../lib)



ph3ar
Beginner
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar

I have checked this video http://www.mefeedia.com/entry/how-to-compile-intel-amt-sdk-sample-code/11539772 in which the setup of SDK in visual studio is demonstrated.

Next I have used the pdf user guide that is included in Intel's AMT SDK pointing to pages Nr: 13 and 14.

Moreover I have attached the BuildLog.htm and 2 screenshots of the MSSDK" Environment variables.

Also, as winhttp.h is part of the Plaform SDK, please let us know which path you set inside your Visual Studio Project for the Platform SDK include files? I haven't found any information about this? You mean how to open the Intel AMT SDK path from Visual studio or the directory tree of the SDK?

Hi - You included the Visual Studio Project information where you are telling it where to find the Windows SDK Include and Library files. I do not see anything showing anew MSSDK EnvironmentVariable and what path it is set to.

I need to know two things. Did you create a new Environment Variable called MSSDK on your Window's System? And your path looks strange - did you give it a different directory name than what the installation defaulted to? Please also provide the link from where you downloaded the Platform SDK so that we can verify that you did, indeed install the correct product (again, the link is in the User's Guide).

You should have installed the product called: Window Server 2003 SP1 Platform SDK Web Install - this is where the link in the User's Guide takes you. And on my system, it installed the product into the following folder: C:Program FilesMicrosoft Platform SDK for Windows XP SP2 -- so that is the path I set for my MSSDK Environment Variable and I set the Lib and Include files accordingly (.../include and ..../lib)



Hello Gael,

The link that I have downloaded Window Server 2003 SP1 Platform SDK Web Install ishttp://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=A55B6B43-E24F-4EA3-A93E-40C0EC4F68E5&displaylang=en

I changed the environment variables to visuial studio and windows environment variables, but I still get the same error.
I have uploaded the new screenshot with my configuration.

Thanks-
Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar
Hello Gael,

The link that I have downloaded Window Server 2003 SP1 Platform SDK Web Install ishttp://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=A55B6B43-E24F-4EA3-A93E-40C0EC4F68E5&displaylang=en

I changed the environment variables to visuial studio and windows environment variables, but I still get the same error.
I have uploaded the new screenshot with my configuration.

Thanks-

Ok - those three screenshots look OK if C:Program FilesMicrosoft SDK is actually where the product is installed. Could you verify this? Did you change the default path when you installed it? This is not the folder that the insallation created on my system. Remember: The file that it cannot find is a Window's Platform SDK include file. If you aren't using the correct path, the compiler will not be able to find the include file and you will get an error message.

You did reboot your computer after addeding the MSSDK Environment Variable, correct?
ph3ar
Beginner
166 Views


Ok - those three screenshots look OK if C:Program FilesMicrosoft SDK is actually where the product is installed. Could you verify this? Did you change the default path when you installed it? This is not the folder that the insallation created on my system. Remember: The file that it cannot find is a Window's Platform SDK include file. If you aren't using the correct path, the compiler will not be able to find the include file and you will get an error message.

You did reboot your computer after addeding the MSSDK Environment Variable, correct?

There are 2 version of SDKs version 6.0A and v6.1 in this directory C:Program FilesMicrosoft SDKsWindows and of course this doesn't matches the directory referred to the SDK user guide.

I am lost!
Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar

There are 2 version of SDKs version 6.0A and v6.1 in this directory C:Program FilesMicrosoft SDKsWindows and of course this doesn't matches the directory referred to the SDK user guide.

I am lost!

Interesting... What OS are you running? You might want to uninstall both and start fresh - your URL is correct, but I think it detects your OS and installs the Platform SDK that is correct for your OS. 6.0A sort of implies 'alpha" to me and maybe 6.1 would be the one to use - although my installation path is totally different so I'm a little confused at that. Where is your winhttp.h file? do both directory structures have the correct include files? You should try correctly setting your MSSDK environment variable and the Visual Studio project directories to point to the install that has the right files.

Also, the directory that the SDK refers to is a generic name - you have to use the directory name for where your installation puts the Platform SDK. It can be a little confusing, but since the product gets installed with different names depending on what OS you are on, I suppose it makes sense to use a name that is generic, for the purpose of an example.
Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views


Interesting... What OS are you running? You might want to uninstall both and start fresh - your URL is correct, but I think it detects your OS and installs the Platform SDK that is correct for your OS. 6.0A sort of implies 'alpha" to me and maybe 6.1 would be the one to use - although my installation path is totally different so I'm a little confused at that. Where is your winhttp.h file? do both directory structures have the correct include files? You should try correctly setting your MSSDK environment variable and the Visual Studio project directories to point to the install that has the right files.

Also, the directory that the SDK refers to is a generic name - you have to use the directory name for where your installation puts the Platform SDK. It can be a little confusing, but since the product gets installed with different names depending on what OS you are on, I suppose it makes sense to use a name that is generic, for the purpose of an example.

Also - what version of Microsoft Visual C/C++ are you using? You need to be running MS Visual Studio 2005 in order to build the SDK Samples.. I found this note on the Download website:

To build the C/C++ samples, you must have a C/C++ compiler. If you are using Microsoft Visual C/C++, run it at least once before installing the SDK. This will ensure that the environment variables are correctly configured. To build the Visual Basic samples, you must have Microsoft Visual Basic. This SDK does not support working with Microsoft Visual C/C++, 6.0 as support for VC 6.0 has ended. The last SDK that will work with VC 6.0 is the February 2003 Edition, you can order a CD on the fulfillment site. Side by side installations are not supported.
ph3ar
Beginner
166 Views


Interesting... What OS are you running? You might want to uninstall both and start fresh - your URL is correct, but I think it detects your OS and installs the Platform SDK that is correct for your OS. 6.0A sort of implies 'alpha" to me and maybe 6.1 would be the one to use - although my installation path is totally different so I'm a little confused at that. Where is your winhttp.h file? do both directory structures have the correct include files? You should try correctly setting your MSSDK environment variable and the Visual Studio project directories to point to the install that has the right files.

I'm windows xp with SP3 under virtualbox. So I will try to reinstall the MSSDK.

BTW is there any doc that refers to your reply http://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/showpost.php?p=56080 about many operations that won't work locally on an intel amt host?

Thanks.
Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar

I'm windows xp with SP3 under virtualbox. So I will try to reinstall the MSSDK.

BTW is there any doc that refers to your reply http://software.intel.com/en-us/forums/showpost.php?p=56080 about many operations that won't work locally on an intel amt host?

Thanks.


Ok... I'm Windows XP with SP3 too. I don't know what Virtualbox is so maybe there is something strange going on there.

As far a what samples can be run locally on the AMT Client vs remotely on your management console, I have written a couple of blogs, one for remote calls and one for local calls. There is also a comprehensive table in the Overview.pdf(in the DOCs folder) that tells you which realms operate on which interface (this table will be more up to date - my blogs will not mention any of the newer AMT Features.)
ph3ar
Beginner
166 Views



Ok... I'm Windows XP with SP3 too. I don't know what Virtualbox is so maybe there is something strange going on there.

As far a what samples can be run locally on the AMT Client vs remotely on your management console, I have written a couple of blogs, one for remote calls and one for local calls. There is also a comprehensive table in the Overview.pdf(in the DOCs folder) that tells you which realms operate on which interface (this table will be more up to date - my blogs will not mention any of the newer AMT Features.)
I think that reinstalling the mssdk did the trick, but I'm getting a different error.
---
LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'StatusStringsD.lib'
---
I have also attached the Buildlog.htm

Virtualbox is a vmware like application.

I have already checked overview.pdf but still I cannot understand why I cannot enter webui of Intel's amt from the same machine (local), is this an implementation design or a "fault" ?

Gael_H_Intel
Moderator
166 Views

Quoting - ph3ar
I think that reinstalling the mssdk did the trick, but I'm getting a different error.
---
LINK : fatal error LNK1104: cannot open file 'StatusStringsD.lib'
---
I have also attached the Buildlog.htm

Virtualbox is a vmware like application.

I have already checked overview.pdf but still I cannot understand why I cannot enter webui of Intel's amt from the same machine (local), is this an implementation design or a "fault" ?


Excellent. Because you are building a "Debug" release, it is looking for the Debug version of the StatusStrings.lib and I found that the debugversion had not been built so the lib is not there- there are two ways that you should be able to fix this.

1. Go into the ...CommonStatuStrings folder, open the StatusStrings project and select the Debug option on your top toolbar - you can choose "debug" or "release." Then build the solution. Then you will be able to see that the StatusStringsD.lib is there - then you can go back to your other sample and build - it should be able to find it.

2. Go back into your project and select the "Release" build and it will look for the StatusStrings.lib instead (and it is already there) and therefore should build just fine.

As for your WebUI question - that is by design. You can actually bring up the webui, but you will get an error.
ph3ar
Beginner
97 Views


Excellent. Because you are building a "Debug" release, it is looking for the Debug version of the StatusStrings.lib and I found that the debugversion had not been built so the lib is not there- there are two ways that you should be able to fix this.

1. Go into the ...CommonStatuStrings folder, open the StatusStrings project and select the Debug option on your top toolbar - you can choose "debug" or "release." Then build the solution. Then you will be able to see that the StatusStringsD.lib is there - then you can go back to your other sample and build - it should be able to find it.

2. Go back into your project and select the "Release" build and it will look for the StatusStrings.lib instead (and it is already there) and therefore should build just fine.

As for your WebUI question - that is by design. You can actually bring up the webui, but you will get an error.
OK, so I started with the 1st option without any error and then when I am going back to compile the discovery project I still get the same error.

When I'm trying to fix this the 2nd solution I got the following error attached as image.

WebUI question: Do you know where I can find documentation that talks about WebUI and why this is implemented like this, it's a pain in the ass if you want to configure a machine and also test this technology.

Thanks.
Reply