Intel® Business Client Software Development
Support for Intel® vPro™ software development and technologies associated with Intel vPro platforms.

MeshCommander Timeout Error

Allen_R_1
Beginner

Hello,

I am not a developer.  I'm an operations engineer responsible for SCCM in my organization.  I just updated SCCM to 1511 and the out of band management server role was deprecated.  I've installed MeshCommander.

When I run meshcommander on a local machine and connect to the vPro technology (AMT) it is successful.  When I try to connect to a remote machine, I get a timeout error in the Meshcommander Console.

I checked my test machine and the needed protocols are allowed through the Windows firewall (16992 - 16995).  Are there any other ports that need to be opened in the firewall or any network configuration needed?

Should any ports be opened "outbound" on the console machine?

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Ylian_S_Intel
Employee

Hi. I am the developer of MeshCommander, thanks for posting. First thing you probably want to try is just connecting to Intel AMT using a regular web browser on port 16992 (HTTP) or 16993 (HTTPS). Just to make sure this works. The only ports you need open are 16992/16994 is TLS is not setup and 16993/16995 if TLS is setup.

If the browser works, the next probably is authentication. I don't know a huge amount about SCCM, but Kerberos authentication to AMT is used by default, this could be the problem. Start by running MeshCommander stand-alone (just run the .exe) and add your machines hostname/user/pass and see if that works. Also, try Kerberos if that is setup.

After this, you should get a better view of what the problem is. By the way, you can run "MeshCommander.exe -debug" and see if any errors popup.

Hope it helps,
Ylian

0 Kudos
Allen_R_1
Beginner