Intel® Business Client Software Development
Support for Intel® vPro™ software development and technologies associated with Intel vPro platforms.

What tool do I use?

David_Pike
Beginner
For once I'm overwhelmed by too much information. I'm an OEM system builder building my first VPro client computer. There seem to be dozens of configuration tools, some old, some new, but none with the same name or description.

So what tool should I use to configure the VPro computer I'm building?
And which document should I read as a guide?

Hopefully there's a single answer!

Thanks to all,
David
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Gael_H_Intel
David,
I wish that I could tell you that it really isn't all that complicated. I would start here with the Start Here Guide. I have tried really hard to make this document something that could be skimmed through and give the reader an idea of where to start. Hopefully it will do that for you. Let me know if it doesn't.
A good overall guide to the SDK and what all is possible with Manageability - here is the online Docs.
There are a number of ways you can configure your client. How you do it and which tool you use depends on what features you need. (TLS? KVM?) If you are just enabling one system, I usually just do it through the MEBx menus - this puts the system in Admin Control Mode.

Video: Host-Based Provisioning Intel vPro clients using the ACU Wizard

Video: How to Configure and Un-configure an Intel vPro technology client (Intel AMT) inside the MEBx Menus

The videos above are a little rough - I did them in a low budget sort of environment. Hopefully they will help explain the basics on enabling AMT.
You can use the full Setup and Config Software available here. (There is a video about the SCS at this link.)
You can also use powershell scripts - let me know if you need more info here.