Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.
6402 Discussions

Help required in using a retrained model for custom object detection on a Raspberry Pi 3 + Movidius

idata
Employee

Hello.

Firstly, let me start by saying that I'm not educated in this field at all. I have tried learning a lot, mostly for fun, but considering I have difficulties with reading, it's quite hard to find resources on how this kind of things works, I've found. I am a software developer, full time, so figured a bit of python or whatever would serve me well and away we would go. How wrong I was.

A couple of weeks ago I gave up on trying to use my custom trained model (UK registration plate detection). It worked really quite well on PC using a python script by following this tutorial (Faster-RCNN-Inception-V2-COCO). I have also followed this tutorial (ssd_mobilenet_v1_coco), which is aimed at training in the cloud. Using both tutorials, I was able to successfully use about 600 images to create my model. I've tried registering to the Intel seminar things, but I never get a response to those, so I am unable to get any value from those.

The last time I looked at it (about the beginning of this month) I had hit a brick wall (after spending many hours every day for about 10 days) and ended up spitting my dummy out. Along with that, I decided the best thing for it was to get some fresh eyes on it and give it about a week as it actually started to consume me a little bit…

Anyway, my question is, if it is possible at all, how would I go about taking my retrained models and using them on the Movidius?

My 'requirements'/details are as follows:

1) My use case does not have to use Tensorflow – it would be a bonus if it did as I already have 2x working models, but if another format such as Tiny Yolo needs to be trained, I'm quite happy to do that again.