Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.

How to pre-train a model to be used with my own live data?

Warren__Matt
Beginner

Hello,

Please pardon the triviality of my question, as I am new to Computer Vision and AI.

I was wondering how to use my existing database of plant photos to create a pre-trained model that I can use against live input (plant photos), to get the inference/ouput?

Any help/tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Matt

0 Kudos
1 Solution
nikos1
Valued Contributor I

Hello Matt,

After you have a Tensorflow model the next step would be to generate valid IR (bin and xml files) that OpenVino can use

Please refer to https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/OpenVINO-ModelOptimizer on more details how to use the model optimizer.

Inference Engine enables deploying your network model trained with any of supported deep learning frameworks: Caffe*, TensorFlow*, MXNet*, Kaldi*, or converted to the ONNX* format. To perform the inference, the Inference Engine does not operate with the original model, but with its Intermediate Representation (IR), which is optimized for execution on end-point target devices. To generate an IR for your trained model, the Model Optimizer tool is used.

A good start with OpenVino is also to build and run the samples as they demonstrate the whole workflow.

Cheers,

Nikos

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
whatthisismyname
Beginner

TIPS:
1- Wrong Forum
2-You need to find a framework and suites you
3-Learn how to use it
4-Make sure its compatible with NCS

5-Train your model
6-Convert it to OpenVINO format 
7-Build your code  and be happy :)

0 Kudos
Warren__Matt
Beginner

Hello Daniel,

Thank you for the tips. I am hoping you can enlighten me:

1. If this is the wrong forum for learning how to use OpenVino, can you point me to the correct forum?