Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.

Mask R-CNN on VPU

Nguyen__Viet
Beginner

Hi, 

We have trained a Mask R-CNN model on a NVIDIA GPU to do object instance segmentation and tested on some images with sufficient performance. Now we are looking into deploy the trained model on Neural Compute Stick 2. I'm just getting started with OpenVINO toolkit and here is what I have done: 

- I downloaded mask_rcnn_inception_v2_coco.tar.gz from TensorFlow detection model zoo and decompressed it. 

- I used ModelOptimizer as follows to get an Intermediate Representation:

python3 mo_tf.py --input_model ./frozen_inference_graph.pb --tensorflow_use_custom_operations_config extensions/front/tf/mask_rcnn_support.json --tensorflow_object_detection_api_pipeline_config ./pipeline.config --data_type FP16

(I used data type of FP16 as the default FP32 is not supported on VPU)

- Then I used Inference Engine in the mask_rcnn_demo as follows: 

./mask_rcnn_demo -m ./frozen_graph.xml -i ./image.jpg -d MYRIAD

However, I got the following error: 

[ ERROR ] [VPU] Softmax input or output SecondStageBoxPredictor/ClassPredictor/BiasAdd/softmax has invalid batch 

Could someone please point me to the source of this error? 

I understand from the documentation that currently Mask RCNN is only supported on CPU and GPU, but I would like to know is there anything I can do to get it run on VPU (such as write custom layers for layers not supported in Model Optimizer?). I haven't found any explanation on why Mask RCNN is not supported on VPU in the documentation yet. 

Thanks, 

Viet. 

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Nguyen__Viet
Beginner

I'm continuing to find debug and find the problem.