Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.

Neural compute stick 2 for raspberry pi 3 B+?

khandelwal__Yash
Beginner

I purchased  NCS2 for running it pi but after purchasing only i get to know it does'nt support raspbian.

Will intel make it for pi also in future?

please tell i am a student and i payed my whole savings in buying NCS2.

0 Kudos
23 Replies
Severine_H_Intel
Employee

Dear Yash, 

We do not support it yet. However, I invite you to follow this thread to get updated about our support of Raspberry Pi: https://github.com/opencv/dldt/issues/3

Best, 

Severine

0 Kudos
RTasa
New Contributor I
I would love to see support for your older UP board with the Intel® ATOM™ x5-Z8350 with the reduced price. It would deliver much much better performance than the PI board and really give you and end to end solution for those that want to experiment. Currently from what I understand there is no OpenVino support for older UP board.
0 Kudos
khandelwal__Yash
Beginner

Does UP boards support OpenVINO? so i can plug NCS2 in it?

0 Kudos
Leini__Mikk
Beginner

I ran into same problem - bought NCS2 to put on RPi robot and now got hit by this "surprise". Please add RPi 3 support to OpenVINO or to NCSDK2.

0 Kudos
Leini__Mikk
Beginner

Wishes have been answered: 

Introduced preview support for Raspbian* 9 as a host for Intel® Movidius™ Neural Compute Stick and Intel® Neural Compute Stick 2 targets.

https://software.intel.com/en-us/articles/OpenVINO-RelNotes

0 Kudos
Leini__Mikk
Beginner

I downloaded OpenVINO R5 for Linux onto RPi and it fails to install:

pi@raspberrypi:~/Downloads/l_openvino_toolkit_p_2018.5.445 $ sudo ./install.sh
./install.sh: 60: [: -lt: unexpected operator
./install.sh: 63: [: -eq: unexpected operator
The IA-32 architecture host installation is no longer supported.
The product cannot be installed on this system.