Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.
6392 Discussions

Transitioning from testing a Keras Image Classifier (.H5) to Openvino (.xml & .bin)

Stamm__Taylor
Beginner

Hello, I am somewhat new to Machine Learning and am currently developing an image classifier to detect drones flying in the air (end goal is a 30-50 foot dome of airspace). I trained a model with Keras that accurately classified between "drone" and "not drone" to my liking, and in order to implement smooth real-time drone detection on a Raspberry Pi, I bought a Neural Compute Stick 2 to run this model. I understood that in order to utilize my model for the Neural Compute Stick 2, I needed to use the Model Optimizer to convert the model for use for the Openvino environment. I successfully used the model optimizer to convert my .H5 Keras model to IR (.xml and .bin files).

To implement the model with the .H5 file, it was as simple as loading the model from the Keras.models library and using model.predict to obtain the image predictions. Then I labelled the current frame with its classification and prediction certainty. 

My issue is that I am unsure how I can implement these .xml and .bin files that are optimized for Openvino to do the same thing that I was doing with the .H5 file. I tried searching online, but could not find any good examples that directly related to my model.

I have attached pictures of the testing code I used to implement the .H5 model file and the kind of output frame I got with the model.

Thank you for your help!

0 Kudos
6 Replies
Shubha_R_Intel
Employee