Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ Toolkit
Community assistance about the Intel® Distribution of OpenVINO™ toolkit, OpenCV, and all aspects of computer vision-related on Intel® platforms.
6404 Discussions

Using the Pi Camera not USB camera. Some sample code..

idata
Employee

I got to admit I was struggling with the ncappzoo and the getting the stick running. After installing version one, I deleted my workspace folder and upgraded to version 2 of the SDK and then installed version 2 of the ncappzoo and now my Pi 3+ is running and sees the Stick. The very next issue was getting using the a Pi Camera on the ribbon instead of a USB Drive.

I noticed the examples that take video input are work for USB cam and not the PI camera I am using. So I reworked this simple example. I am no Python expert but am pasting the code in here in case someone needs or wants to use the Pi Camera and needs a little help getting started. Happy using Neural Compute Stick!

This is a modified live-image-classifier.py

`

!/usr/bin/python3

Copyright(c) 2017 Intel Corporation.

License: MIT See LICENSE file in root directory.

Perform inference on a LIVE camera feed using DNNs on

Intel® Movidius™ Neural Compute Stick (NCS)

from picamera.array import PiRGBArray

from picamera import PiCamera

import time

import os

import cv2

import sys

import numpy

import ntpath

import argparse

import skimage.io

import skimage.transform

import mvnc.mvncapi as mvnc

Variable to store commandline arguments

ARGS = None

OpenCV object for video capture

cam = None

capture image array

rawCapture = None

---- Step 1: Open the enumerated device and get a handle to it -------------

def open_ncs_device():

# Look for enumerated NCS device(s); quit program if none found. devices = mvnc.enumerate_devices() if len( devices ) == 0: print( "No devices found" ) quit() # Get a handle to the first enumerated device and open it device = mvnc.Device( devices[0] ) device.open() return device