Intel® FPGA Software Installation & Licensing
Installation and Licensing that’s includes Intel Quartus® Prime software, ModelSim* - Intel FPGA Edition software, Nios® II Embedded Design Suite on Windows or Linux operating systems.

Problem with mSGDMA transfer

OTuil
Beginner

Dear readers,

I am an electronics engineer and an experienced FPGA programmer. However, I am new to the Cyclone V SoC.

Currently, I am designing a vision system, in which the FPGA controls a scanning camera, and the HPS needs to store the captured images, and preforms some processing on them. For the camera control, use the building blocks from Platform Designer (QSYS), and all seems to work properly. For capturing the images, I want to let the FPGA write the video stream directly into the HPS SDRAM memory.

To gain some knowledge on the subject, I downloaded the example project from Critical Link:

https://support.criticallink.com/redmine/projects/mityarm-5cs/wiki/Writing_to_HPS_Memory

This uses a mSGDMA Dispatcher IP, a DMA Write Master IP, and a user defined Avalon Streaming Source. I adapted this design to our own custom board based on a 5CSEBA2U23C7S. When I synthesize this example, all seem to work. Since, I am not familiar with programming in Linux, I use U-Boot memory commands to test the design. I reserved memory space 0x07000000 through 0x07FFFFFF for the DMA transfer, the msgDMA descriptor is connected to the lightweight bridge on location 0xFF200300, and the CSR is at 0xFF200200.

I edited the streaming component a bit. It does not use the package mode anymore, and is resettable by bit 2 of a general purpose output on location 0xFF200010. Bits 1 and 0 are connector to LEDs, so I can create also some extra visual information. If bit 2 is zero the component outputs the counter values. When bit 2 is one, the counter is being reset, and while remaining one, the component only outputs zeroes. The VHDL of the streaming component is now:

entity st_cnt_src_otto is

port (