Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1174 Discussions

ADC Interfacing with DE2 (General Overview)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

We have decided to use the Nios DE2 board as a development tool for my part 4 Electrical Engineering Project. 

I have some experience with using the Nios DE2 Board however I have very little experience interfacing the DE2 board with other external peripherals. 

I am in the process of selecting some ADCs to interface with the DE2 board. I need 4 ADCs for the 4 sensors. They do not have to be high speed and i haven't checked the DE2's voltage specifications yet but my guess would be 5V? 

Anyway, if anyone has any advice or related articles that could make this process easier I would love some help. I have looked at several posts on this forum already but most of them seem to be from people who have either had experience with external DE2 peripherals or have already selected their ADC's etc. I'm looking for a more general overview of how to go about the following: 

1) Selecting the right kind of ADCs 

2) Hardware Interfacing of the ADCs with the Nios DE2 Board 

3) Managing the ADCs as a peripheral in the SOPC builder 

4) Finally implementing and testing the ADCs with code 

I understand how ADC's work etc but am unfamiliar with the different types of ADCs and the trade offs when interfacing them with the DE2 board. 

Thanks for your help! :) 

Alastair
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am now thinking of using an ATMega8 to manage the ADC's and then interfacing an output of this with the Expansion Header Pins on the DE2 Board as it seems like a reasonably low cost hopefully quite simple solution (We have $3 AtMega8s because uni buys in bulk)

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

What about using some external ADC ICs?  

You have heaps of I/O expansion on the two expansion headers.