Intel® FPGA University Program
University Program Material, Education Boards, and Laboratory Exercises
1174 Discussions

Building serial communication...

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am using a FLEX10K UP2 board and want to do some image processing on it. I would like to build an 8-bit internal RAM for my FPGA in order for my design file to write data to the RAM and read data from my CPU. I have been advised to use the serial communication to achieve data interaction between my CPU and FPGA. Since I am a beginner here, my questions would be: 

• Any suggestion on creating internal RAM? By using and altsyncram and associate it to my design file? 

• If so, then how to establish a serial commucation between my CPU and then internal RAM? Is SOPC Builder useful here? In the mean time, I have done some reading on UART, RS232, parallel-in-serial-out register and serial-in-parallel-out register. 

I really appreciate for any references related to above issues. 

Thanks.
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Due to the limited LE capacity of Flex10k, SOPC wouldn't be a good idea. 

Regarding simple UART reference designs. Did you notice the projects from opencores, e.g.: 

http://www.opencores.org/projects.cgi/web/uart/overview
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

If you don’t stick to serial communication, you can use In-System Sources and 

Probes to read and write a FPGA internal RAM.  

http://www.altera.com/literature/hb/qts/qts_qii53021.pdf 

This tool provides a kind of parallel I/O ports resident in your FPGA. You can control the I/O ports through a JTAG cable and a TCL script.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Basically a good suggestion, but not helpful wit Flex10k.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I don’t aware that the IP does not support Flex10k. Thanks for the correction.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II